You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The seabird Skarven.

in #nature7 years ago

Does the pub "Skarven" still exist?

While those birds are more common in the north (very commonly found on the top of sea marks and lighthouses), they do exist here in the southern Norway too.

I had a crazy sort of an accident in the Kambo harbour, right north of Moss maybe two years ago. I was trying to "land" the ship - which can be quite stressful if there is a bit of wind in the air - so I got quite scared when there was a loud bang. What went wrong now, did I manage to crash into something? No, the sound come from the mast - did some parts of the rig collapse? No - it was one of those black birds that had come flying and struck the mast, probably some of the wires. It died instantly and fell into the sea.

I took the dhingy and collected it as soon as I had attached the boat to land. I really didn't know what to do with it. Could it be eaten? I decided to write an email to my mother. She was unfortunately slow responding, so eventually I just threw the bird away - but even that was difficult. Did the harbor have any garbage sorting system? Was the garbage container emptied frequently? I suppose it can be very bad thing to throw a big dead bird into the container if it's not emptied frequently - it could start stinking rather badly.

Fish-eating birds generally doesn't taste very well, but my mother responded that actually it is supposed to taste rather good if it's handled right. If I remember correctly, one of the important points is to cut off the head and drain it for blood as soon as possible after it's dead. Handle it incorrectly, and it will taste horrible.

Same is true for seal and whale - good-quality meat can be truly delicious if handled right, if it's handled badly, fried for too long, or if the meat is of bad quality then it's awful.

Sort:  

Thank you for great comments and a good story. Skarv is really delicious food if you handle the meet properly. I got one of a friend recently and tasted the meet for the first time. Skarv is the beef from the sea. the meet was very good.
Yes the pub Skarven is still a very popular place in Tromsø. I was there for a while ago and it was "stinn brakke"

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62296.59
ETH 2441.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65