Botanical Gardens-The Lilies Finally Bloomed!

in #nature7 years ago

By far my favorite plant to watch bloom is the lily. Unless you were the one who planted it, you can't really tell what color it is going to be when it buds. I have been visiting our nearby Botanical Gardens nearly every week in anticipation for their massive lily garden to begin blooming. For us, it's less than a ten minute drive and there are always incredible things to see and do there. We take the dog and make her exercise while we enjoy the nature and I pick up Pokemon, too. If you ever come by Springfield, I really recommend visiting Nathaniel Greene Park/The Botanical Gardens. There is a Japanese Stroll Garden, the historical Gray/Campbell Homestead (which is also one of my first memories of a school fieldtrip) and there are incredible playgrounds for the kiddos to visit as well. I included some pictures of the lilies and other exciting shots from the day. I hope you enjoy!

The flowers weren't the only thing I was excited to see today. We went in the early morning and were treated to see so many turtles out and about. The softshell turtle was incredible for me because I had never seen one outside of water before and it appeared to be digging a hole to lay eggs as well.

I even got a little video of it flicking dirt away.

I almost forgot to mention, they have a Butterfly House in the park as well that lets you come in and visit with different butterflies and moths. Today there were a lot of monarchs and my husband saw his favorite, a red spotted purple, today also.

It was a great morning and I am so thankful that we have such a great resource available nearby. As you can see below, Kharma leaves exhausted and happy everytime.

Thanks for looking and keep being awesome,

@tltran

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 60480.09
ETH 2363.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65