You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Importance of Superbowl Sunday to Mushroom Foragers in the USA - all original photos

in #nature8 years ago

Great post - I just came across a type of nam prik in Thailand that was using the term 'shitake mushroom', but the small mushrooms looked a lot like your Lion's Mane mushroom and they were indeed delicious. I suspect you're curious so the best way I could describe it would be to say that it was a pale yellow coconut/curry consistency that is intensely spicy/hot. Too bad I didn't think to photograph it. It was from southern Thailand (even though I had it in Bangkok). I wonder if there is a shitake that looks similar... ok now I'm showing my mycological ignorance!

Sort:  

I'm glad you got to eat some tasty mushrooms! A Shitake mushroom, though, would have a round cap with gills on the underside, radiating out from the central stem. These Lion's Mane mushrooms grow in a big clump on a tree out in the woods. The whole mushroom looks like a waterfall of icicles.

Very good to get confirmation as I've only ever come across shitake as you've described. Perhaps they didn't know the name in English and settled for something recognizable - after all it was a simple food tent setup in a park for a short event. Thank you!

That sounds like a reasonable explanation. It does sound like a great meal, though! If you ever see something like that again, I'd appreciate seeing a post about it. I enjoy seeing wild mushrooms used by other folks -- there are so many different kinds! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67358.72
ETH 2619.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68