Florida Softshell Turtle

in #nature7 years ago

image I wasn’t aware that this species of turtle lived in the lake at my university when I had just moved there. One day I was sitting on the dock with my feet dangling over the water. I suddenly looked down and this guy was coming for my toe! image I thought it was an alligator snapping turtle but luckily i was wrong because if I was frightened by this soft shell i I can’t imagine if I saw his freaky cousin. (pictured below) Imagine accidentally stepping on this one. image The softshell turtle does not get as large as the alligator snapping turtle but it still has a strong bite. Soft shells are carnivorous; their diets consist of fish, snails, insects, and toes. image I’m kidding about the toes but I felt like he was waiting there on the prowl for a little while.
Disclaimer: The 1st and 3rd pictures do not belong to me. The 2nd and 4th are mine.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57451.97
ETH 3105.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32