The spy hop

in #nature6 years ago (edited)

Orca display many surface behaviours, which is the key thing to look for to understand ”How the animal is feeling, as weird as that sounds - it is true. When you begin to interact with these apex predators of the world - it is key to be patient and simply watch what they do to work out what is the best way to drive around them.

One behaviour that is good sign that they are curious and may want to have a closer interaction is the Spy-hop. Its where the orca comes vertically out of the water very slowing, sticking their eyes above the surface in order to look around what goings on. It is awesome to see, as you know they were just staring at you & it is also very difficult to get a great shot of it simply due to the fact it is over in under a second.


Basically, if you are unsure of how an animal is feeling- then give them a huge amount of space and drive very, very slowly when near them

IMG_1473.jpg


Thanks for reading and all the support, Steemit!!

Dont forget to Upvote & Resteem!!!

All stories & photographs are of my own work unless noted under the picture in question.

For more stories and photos check out my Instagram feed

Sort:  

Nice post

I am a lover of marine mammals. Killer whales are undoubtedly one of the most intelligent animals in the animal kingdom as soon as they talk about hunting and communication techniques among them, they elaborate different tactics depending on the type of prey they intend to follow. It is impressive how they use each ability to the fullest to achieve their goal either alone or in packs, the key to their success is due to their cunning and patience.

patience is right! Their ability to process information and try various tactics to take down their prey is amazing. have you spent anytime with them in the wild?

Unfortunately, I do not have the fortune to know them, what I know of them and their nature I have read in books and documentaries. I'm very passionate about the marine world.

you should take some time to visit them - you won't regret it. If you do go to see them though you will be highly addicted to hanging out with them... Do you work in the marine world now?

I am sure that knowing them will be one of the best experiences of my life. No, since I was little I have had great affinity with the marine world but I dedicate myself to something completely related to the land, the construction, I am an Architecture student. But I love to swim and everything that has to do with the ocean, the great deep blue.

oh wow... a little different to the marine world. Sounds very interesting though. Are you a scuba diver as well?

A completely different world in all aspects. If clear diver, I love to swim between swimming for a long time, swimming is one of my favorite hobbies.

Seems like you have a pretty good balance though. I understand what you mean by loving to swim. I practically live in the water :)

I have a huge fascination with killer whales, they're considered the smartest predators in the sea. They're known to hunt grey whales just to eat their livers and also hunt great white sharks as well.

This is true! Typically with larger baleen whales, they tear open the lower jaw and eat the tongue... they are very picky eaters and only eat what they want from their prey. I have heard that with sharks they primarily eat the liver and testes and leaving the rest of the shark carcass. pretty damn awesome!

Yesterday i just saw in the news about this but i already knew they only eat the livers but didnt know wy. It is because the amount of oil in the liver Great White Sharks. The sharks also know when they are around and eave the area for certain amount o time. Last year i visited Cape Town, a famous place to see white sharks, but people can barely see them around the area for the last month because there were 3 Orcas hanging around.

Love that! Did not know about that behavior. I mostly see grey whales doing the annual migration on the California coast.

Grey whales don't tend to be too active on the surface whilst they migrate up and down - orca tend to be slightly more photogenic

Yes...I am super excited to get a tail. I mostly get the spray. But we see a lot of dolphins. They are fun :-)

Beautiful. FollowBack every day 100%

Love the killer whales.. they are so miss understood..

Thank you very much! I do love myself some orca encounters :)

I think human beings have a tendency to underestimate the intelligence of a lot of creatures, but whales, sharks, octopus, and dolphins specifically. I have a feeling that these great masters of the sea live far simpler, and happier lives than we humans do, and I don't think they pulled that off by accident. Very cool image as well, it's gotten me thinking about some new things, and that's always great!

thanks! I couldn't agree with you more about that.

Who does not love Orca? I think everybody that has grown up seeing this enchanting creature, has come to love Orca. Those are great shots and I know getting them was not easy. Thanks for sharing a glimpse of the sea world.

People who don't love them are just not friends of mine... hahah. Thanks for the support! greatly appreciated

vigilance must be maintained @thomasjmitchell

Hola amigo @thomasjmitchell
De verdad que MUCHAS GRACIAS por este consejo tan valioso.
Entendido a la perfección.
Saludos

Amazing Picture
How can people even hunting them?...

They did hunt orca briefly over a century ago and some fisherman do shoot these animals so they don't ruin their nets and take "their fish". I only hope that we just kind of leave them be

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60157.45
ETH 2345.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47