Northern resident orca after bear viewing

in #nature5 years ago

Whenever you are traveling/exploring along the west coast of Canada you always have an opportunity to encounter the apex predators that call this region home. This of course is Orca, which I am sure you are all aware are indeed one of my favourite animals to interact with around the world, as I have done so for the past decade.

After a morning of interacting with foraging Grizzly bears that were along the shoreline of a river inlet, we lifted our anchor of the 70ft sailing boat I am working on and continued on our way north around the northern end of Somerville Island near the Alaskan/BC border. When in the distance I caught a very recognizable sight of a distinct black fin appearing and suddenly disappearing. Orca!

The funny thing is that I completely forgot how to speak for a few moments and simply mumbled a bunch of random sounds, as I continued to point in the direction of where orca were located. It's ok, I am weird, this I know. After I finally was able to gain the ability to speak in English I continued to describe to the captain what I saw, so he was able to alter the vessels speed and direction in order to set up the vessel for an interaction. Before I knew it, there was 10 fins, then there was 20 and then at least another 10 or so animals.

The pods were spread out and I was able to quickly identify the eco-type as apart of the Northern Resident population, which are a fish eating only orca population that can be found along this coastline. They were socializing and vocalizing very loudly, which we discovered shortly after dropping our hydrophone into the water as they approached our vessel.

Overall, not a bad way to start our day in the northern coastline of BC, Canada. If you haven't had the opportunity or didn't even know a place like this still exists today in this world, then I would highly recommend heading up to that part of the world and get back to nature just a little bit but be forewarned it can become highly addictive.


IMG_5315-1.jpg
Click image to view full size

Thanks for reading and all the support, Steemit!!

Dont forget to Upvote & Resteem!!!

All stories & photographs are of my own work unless noted under the picture in question.

For more stories and photos check out my Instagram feed

Check out my website new website too - Just BCOZ Photography

Sort:  

Amazing :) Cheers :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Hello @thomasjmitchell, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66540.93
ETH 3186.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11