Hanging out with J pod once again

in #nature6 years ago

My first day back on the water around Vancouver Island and I got the chance to hang out with J pod once again. J pod is one of three pods/families that are a part of the Southern Resident Orca, which you can encounter in the Pacific North West. This orca ecotype forage on Chinook salmon & you can encounter them year round, however, you are more likely to bump into these guys during the summer period when the salmon are running.

This big fella is by far one of my favourite members of J pod. His name is Blackberry aka J27 - one of the biggest and oldest males in J pod. Basically, it was a great welcome back to Vancouver Island!!


IMG_9317.jpg
J27 aka Blackberry


Thanks for reading and all the support, Steemit!!

Dont forget to Upvote & Resteem!!!

All stories & photographs are of my own work unless noted under the picture in question.

For more stories and photos check out my Instagram feed

Check out my website new website too - Just BCOZ Photography

Sort:  

I heard J27 Blackberry currently missing.Blackberry was born in 1991, he swims with his two siblings, younger sister J31 (Tsuchi) and youngest brother J39 (Mako). These three siblings lost their mom, J11 (Blossom), back in the summer of 2008.

Wow what a day, your first day back too! Its been said by my friends and family that I am like a lucky charm for seeing whales, dolphins and all sea life, we once went on a whale watching trip and the guy taking us out had apparently never seen a whale ( not sure why he was running a trip?! ) but that day we saw 3 ! So you must have something too! I hope it happens when I go out to see Orca's for the first time!

that is pretty awesome! When you do finally go out to see your first orca I hope I am on the boat with you, if you are lucky! 😊

Hahaha yeah! Well as long as I see them I will be happy!

Wow, this is a great picture. I live near Seattle and our pods are probably the same you see, is that correct? We do have a Jpod. The orcas are so beautiful.

I swam with the bottle nose dolphins a few times in Key Largo and even took a group out to swim with them in the Bahamas. They are such healing animals and as you know extremely intelligent.

I worked in the field of energy healing and they were extremely helpful.

yes, they are the same Orca that you see in Pugent Sound way from time to time. The other two pods are K and L pods. You also would see Transient orca or Bigg's orca, which are mammal hunting orca.

That sounds like you had quite an amazing experience with dolphins. I am a little jealous 😊

Wow what a life you lead! Can't believe you're friends with J Pod and that you personally know Blackberry! Super!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 63633.54
ETH 3477.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54