face to face with Grizzly bears

in #nature6 years ago

I know what some of you might be thinking. What the hell... that guy is so close to that huge Grizzly bear..?!?! and for the most part I would usually agree with you prior to actually learning more about these animals and how to properly interact with them in their foraging grounds.

The guy in the blue hat is one of the most experienced guys when it comes to interacting with Grizzly Bears along the BC coastline, and my boss. What you can't see is that there is 8 other people next to him, which he is standing in front of with bear spray strapped to his hip to use just in case. However, he can not recount the last time he actually had to use the spray, as all of the encounters are passive and positive interactions.

In reality, I was standing a good 100m away at this point and the bear itself got to about 30m to them before crossing the river and continuing to forage on the opposite side of the shallow salmon spawning river. Key notes to remember here is don't go walking into Grizzly bear territory without proper training, equipment and ideally someone with excessive amounts of training and experience. Safety is always first.


IMG_7204-1.jpg
Click image to view full size


Thanks for reading and all the support, Steemit!!

Dont forget to Upvote & Resteem!!!

All stories & photographs are of my own work unless noted under the picture in question.

For more stories and photos check out my Instagram feed

Check out my website - Just BCOZ Photography

Sort:  

This is done by only brave person.
Great post.
My 100 % upvote for this post Also.

Thanks! I am glad you enjoyed it

It is such a beautiful experience to see them up close . I was just out watching near Bella Coola .

Nice!! do you have any photos of them?

Yes I put a post up recently with one

I just checked it out! amazing shots. you have a new follower

Thanks mate. Where are you based these days?

basically, it depends on what time of year. I spend about 6 months up in BC and 4-5 months in antarctica and travel around other places in between. currently, down in colombia. what about yourself?

It must be wonderful to be so close to such beautiful animals. I would love to try that someday. :D :D

It truly is a special moment to have with these animals and I can not recommend it highly enough

I like your posts, hopefully useful for all

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61124.40
ETH 2666.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60