Crab eater seals

in #nature6 years ago (edited)

Crabeater seals. How else would I start by saying - It is a terrible name and allow me to make this clear at the very beginning, they do not eat crabs. The name actually comes from the German word "Kreb" that translates to crustacean, which is what they do eat. Krill. Krill, are a small shrimp looking animal that is essentially the foundation of the entire food web in the Southern Ocean.


Everything eats it!!!
Or they eat something that eats krill.


Krill are the most dominate animal on the planet with around 300-400million tonnes in the Southern Ocean.


Anyhowz, back to the cute "rock-sausages" AKA seals, Crabeater seal (Lobodon carcinophagus) it is the most dominate seal in the world with population estimates being between 3-5million and they are only found around the Antarctic continent. It is quite easy to identify these cute little critters, as they have a creams/grey coat, long pointy snout and flat head. A key characteristic for Crabeater seals are the scars along their flanks (their sides), which is believed to be a result of aggressive behaviour from other crabeaters and potential predation attempts from the larger, Leopard seal.

These animals are usually always lounging around on ice floes or ice bergs and at times in quite large numbers. There can be 1 - 5 animals on a single piece of floating ice. They are considered to be more social than the other seal species found in Antarctica.


These animals are typically very timid & shy. If you go anywhere near them they tend to display nervous behaviour - lifting their head, looking around frantically and usually moving towards the water to slide in and escape to the depths.


IMG_2870.jpg
A group of Crabeater seals hanging out on an iceberg

!steemitworldmap -64.781780 lat -63.413108 long crab eater seals socializing on an ice berg d3scr


Thanks for reading and all the support, Steemit!!

Dont forget to Upvote & Resteem!!!

All stories & photographs are of my own work unless noted under the picture in question.

**Check out my website new website too - Just BCOZ Photography

Sort:  

We live in a wonderful world that is full of beauty, charm and adventure. There is no end to the adventures that we can have if only we seek them with our eyes open.
Keep posting such a interesting post dear

He said "rock sausages". lol

it is a great nickname for them, I reckon

Rock sausages. LOL. Did you really go to the antarctic for that shot?! There are no words for something so exciting.

I noticed you don't have any EXIF data in your post. Enjoy some EXIF Data for your Photo and a free upvote. Please let me know if this is useful to you. For more details, see my introduction Introducing Exifr

Tag NameValueDescription
MakeCanonCanon
ModelCanon EOS 7DCanon EOS 7D
SoftwareAdobe Photoshop Lightroom 6.14 (Macintosh)Adobe Photoshop Lightroom 6.14 (Macintosh)
ExposureTime0.00050.0005
DateTimeOriginal2017:12:26 12:47:502017:12:26 12:47:50
ShutterSpeedValue10.96578410.965784
ApertureValue4.9708544.970854
FocalLength100100

Nature is undoubtedly wonderful and incredible with each creature on it we realize that it is perfect, a magical creation.

I believe you and I see nature in a very similar way 😊😊😊

“Nature is not a place to visit. It is home.”
~ Gary Snyder

I really love that quote

I didn't know such animals exist. I thought they're only eating fish.

they will eat quite a variety of food - from other seals, birds, penguins, kill, fish, squid and anything else they can get

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=thomasjmitchell
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=crab-eater-seals


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Hello @thomasjmitchell and guests of this blog! Please read my massage only if you have an opportunity to help me out.

Last month my mother was diagnosed with lung cancer and now we are doing all in order to gather the funds needed for treatment and surgical operation. Unfortunately a major part of my cryptocurrecy stuck on HitBTC exchange and I don’t know when I will be able to withdraw them. I want to ask you to financially help me; even $20 will help my family a lot! Sorry for begging, but sadly I have no choice at the moment.

Please donate me with Steem, SBD, of Ethereum. ETH address:

0xeb2eaef6c5be069751185f325939fcdcc47d6f2f

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55693.62
ETH 2494.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31