bird of prey ~ Bald Eagle

in #nature6 years ago

Bald Eagles are one heck of a majestic animal that you find here in North America. With eyesight that is incredibly more sharp than our own it can be quite difficult to get close to these wild birds of prey without spooking them, which means no more photographs. Hence when I do have the opportunity to attempt to take photos of Bald Eagles I am using a 100-400mm lens, which does help a lot.


A cool fact about these animals is that they are quite monogamous with them finding a partner and with them for all of their life. If one of them does die the other will wait about 2 years we believe before heading back to the courting area to find another partner. They grieve for lost partner for 2 years. Somewhat a beautiful sentiment.


IMG_9673.jpg
Click image to view full size

Thanks for reading and all the support, Steemit!!

Dont forget to Upvote & Resteem!!!

All stories & photographs are of my own work unless noted under the picture in question.

For more stories and photos check out my Instagram feed

Check out my website new website too - Just BCOZ Photography

Sort:  

Bald Eagles are a cool bird. I live in the Puget Sound area and they are really common here in the winter, as they follow the salmon runs, and common local breeders too. I've been birding for over 30 years, and can remember the days of DDT related breeding failure in birds like Bald Eagles, Peregrine Falcons, and Brown Pelicans that are at the top of the food chain. It is a different and far better world with these majestic birds having good breeding success again. I've enjoyed following your travels, especially the Antarctic Cruise and side trips. You are rocking Steemit and your success is inspirational.

Oh nice! I am just up the road in Victoria on Vancouver Island. Puget sound is one heck of a beautiful place and this entire region is magical on so many different levels. Oh wow, and thank you for you kind words. I really appreciate everyone's support here on Steemit and will do my best to bring my A game with future posts

Gorgeous bird, but such a fierce expression. Very intense. Nice capture bringing us visually quite close.

Thanks! they were very patient and happy that I was able to get a bit closer to get this photo

Great shot @thomasjmitchell! I love bald eagles!!

No doubt that eagle transmits power and elegance that is beautiful and radiant, excellent shot. Every day your post congratulations are better

Such a majestic animal. Love the picture and thanks for the cool fact, I didn't know that.

What an amazing bird

Awesome shot, love these birds!

Thanks! They are pretty awesome to encounter along this coastline

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58098.46
ETH 3134.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38