Animal Encounter #4 ~ River Otter snacking on a crab

in #nature6 years ago

The river otter! Cheeky and adorable cuties that scurry around the coastlines and making a huge mess on every dock they decide to run around on. They are quite territorial and can also be very aggressive towards other animals. I even got to see one take down a seagull that was just chilling on the surface of the water then BAM an otter grabbed it by the neck and dragged it down under the surface. Otter has got to eat I guess.

This day I just secured the vessel to the dock and then this little guy jumped up on the dock next to me and decided to have his lunch - a dungeness crab. He was not even bothered about our presence and I was lucky enough to grab my camera and take a few snaps of him, whilst he enjoyed his fresh snack.


IMG_2603.jpg

Click image for full size.


Thanks for reading and all the support, Steemit!!

All stories & photographs are of my own work unless noted under the picture in question.

For more stories and photos check out my Instagram feed: https://www.instagram.com/thomas_mitchell2912/

Sort:  

Damn! Thats EXACTLY how I eat my crab lmao

hallo i am a newcomer in steemit
please help friend

welcome to steemit family :)

Amazing, we love seeing otters in Scotland over here, its always a special sight!

Hi..... :)

Are they not very common?
Also how is it i didnt realize you were in scotland?

No not very, it's very rare to see one! If you to the Isle of Mull you tend to see lots there though, well most my family live in Scotland so I am there quite a lot but live in Yorkshire!

They're so cute until they turn vicious.

Never seen something like that!

He looks bigger than the otters we see in the bush. Nice shot.

Oh wow, good for you to be in places like that ! :-)
i am impressed.jpg

I think you are so valiant as you take this photo. Thank you for your story.

Hey. Welcome to steemit.

omg! That photo turns a very cute animal into a viscous beast! 😳 Lovely story and I enjoyed your writing style.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64364.24
ETH 3416.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48