Foraging for Jewelweed

in #nature7 years ago (edited)

As an herbalist I am always excited when I find new herbs and ways to use them! I had heard about Jewelweed years ago from a friend who told me it was the "cure for poison ivy." While I was at @mericanhomestead I decided to try to harvest some leaves for a tincture and also try to get some seeds as well to plant at home. @alifeathome, @scotthutslar, and I ventured down the mountain as we were told that's where it grew. It took us awhile to identify it, but once we did we were able to harvest quite a bit! I have plenty of leaves for my tincture and several seeds to plant on my property. We were so excited, however, were not looking forward to the climb back up the mountain. Luckily, we were able to hitch a ride back up with @jal627 who was returning from an ice run in town (talk about perfect timing!).

Here is what we were able to harvest. We plucked the leaves and seed pods off to bring home.
DSC01415.JPG

When we returned to the top of the mountain @papa-pepper was excited to see what we harvested. Here he is looking in my herb identification book to confirm our findings.
DSC01417.JPG

Check out my Etsy store
www.themyrrhmaid.com

Sort:  

Good post. I've been looking around here too but haven't found any yet. Wishing you the best.

This was one of our best finds I believe, @themyrrhmaid! A great adventure for sure.

Nice find and great payout! Jewelweed is a friend of mine! (actually, I have poison ivy right now, LOL)

Bummer that you're dealing with poison ivy! Have you found Jewelweed to treat it with yet? If not, you may want to head over to @mericanhomestead and get some. They have tons of it alongside their road.

Jewelweed is one way to deal with it, a razor blade is another. Since Poison Ivy needs skin to "live" on, you just have to remove the skin!

I'm only somewhat joking there.... I'll go look for some Jewelweed.

Ha ha ha! You do need your skin though, so you're wise to go look for Jewelweed! ;)

That's great. Glad you found it.

Thanks! I am really excited about growing it here on my homestead!

I know you can do it. Good luck friend

I am just learning about herbs and their natural abilities for ailments and this is one herb I have not researched yet. Thank you for opening my eyes to another herb that can be useful.

ok, now I have to find out what this is (in German) :-) Enjoyed your post a lot lot!!! Following for more and upvoted! Cheers from the Seven Mountains in Germany, from another herbalist always searching for new herbs to use for teas and tinctures :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63183.53
ETH 2643.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78