You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The American mink (Neovison vison) is found in almost all parts of Norway (and in many parts of Europe as well), and has spread from captive fur minks that have escaped their cages

in #nature7 years ago

Lol, yet one more invasive species. You know it's a serious issue if you can get paid with bounty for them as a full time job. It's funny that you are talking about minks today, because I was just watching an interview with the guy who release a whole bunch of them in Canada and went to jail for like 6 months or something like that. I did a quick search and found this article, although he went more indepth in the video https://www.thestar.com/news/canada/2015/07/10/6800-mink-let-out-in-latest-fur-farm-break-in.html

I tried to find the interview, but I can't remember what the video was. I had nothing to do with the minks, but he had mentioned that he was surprised that he got arrested for doing it. If I ever come across it again, I'll send it your way.
Take care.

Sort:  

You know it's a serious issue if you can get paid with bounty for them as a full time job

Haha, that's true. Sadly I could not find out how many animals he would typically be able to kill in a week. It would be interesting to learn how many he would have to hunt in order to have a decent wage. I remember reading that some counties here pay 500kr (about $70 or so) for a dead fox, so it might be around the same rates for an American mink.

That's a very interesting story! He could potentially destroy entire populations of some bird species or even disturb whole ecosystems from releasing these, but it's kind of funny that he didn't even seem to think that he was doing something wrong. I guess that's a good example of why it is important to educate people about these issues.

Well, his approach was to try to save them from their death because he thought that the country was being cruel and just collecting them for fur coats. Very well may have been their next fate, however, as you said, the minks were probably taken out of the wild because they were damaging the ecosystem.

That's true. I get why he would think that this is the right thing to do, but I always find it ironic when animal lovers do stuff like this, and potentially cause havoc on the local ecosystems - effectively killing thousands of innocent animals that can't fit in the newly altered ecosystem.

I voted you up, as I felt u made a great comment.

Cheers!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58119.05
ETH 2357.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36