You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 1.5 million new Adélie penguins (Pygoscelis adeliae) was just found on the remote Danger Islands!

in #nature6 years ago

Drones are a blessing and a curse all at once. In this instance they are incredible since they can maneuver around easier that a person could walking on the island. In other instances, such as while I was in Peru, people use them to get too close to the wild life which stresses them out. I personally would love to go out to areas that aren't easy to access and check them out with drones while being mindful of the local animals.

I'd be surprised if the variation on the western part of the island was from the warming alone, but it's a neat theory.

Btw, I noticed a couple mistakes in this post... it's not my intention to put it on blast in the comments, but I really don't have anywhere else I could tell you about it. But just so you are aware...

vc3.PNG

if you want, in the future I can tell you elsewhere, in an email or something so that it isn't in the comments section. The only reason I even bring it up is because of how often you refer to previous posts. Either way, Great post!

Sort:  

You make some good points about the drones. They can be incredible, but we need to be careful about how we use them, because I can imagine how scary it will be if they get too close to wildlife.

I'd be surprised if the variation on the western part of the island was from the warming alone, but it's a neat theory.

I'm actually really excited to see if they are able to find good data to support a theory about this. It is most likely several reasons that adds up to the net effect, but we'll see :)

Thanks for pointing out the typos! I try my best to get rid of them before I publish the post, but I usually tend to miss one or two. It's fine that you point it out in the comment section, I actually do appreciate it, because now I have a chance to edit it before the post gets too old.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 66599.39
ETH 3336.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70