Creating a Real Dragon - Part 2

in #nature7 years ago

If you're new to this project (probably because this is only part 2), I suggest taking a look at Part 1. Basically, this is a project where I'm creating an interactive model artwork of a real living dragon.

Creating a Real Dragon - Part 1
https://goo.gl/O0TfWW

In Part 1, I mentioned that there was a new direction in the design. So basically I’m working on two versions; a smaller (more for experimentation) model with no animatronics, and a larger one with the originally designed animatronics.

The smaller dragon will be much more serpent-like, a more fantasy-inspired species. It will reach about 50 cm in length (about 20 inches) and a wingspan of 55 cm (about 22 inches).
(Full body shape)
IMG_0733.JPG
(New materials)
IMG_0735.JPG

The larger dragon is closer to my wyvern, or perhaps, the archaeopteryx, taking on a majestic bird skeleton structure. It will reach about 1 meter in length (about 42 inches) and a wingspan of 1.2 meters (about 46 inches). The priority is the smaller one first, though I have many ideas for this I’m eager to try. One of those is making a tongue. I started something, but I’m going to try a couple more when I finish the smaller dragon. The smaller dragon won’t be needing a tongue, it’s much less detailed.
(First tongue test)
IMG_0719.JPG

I also made a new skin material.
(Previous prototype result)
IMG_0718.JPG
(Flat test surface, trying new patterns)
IMG_0691.JPG
(New cast)
IMG_0720.JPG

I have since gotten even more done, so I will probably be sharing another update soon. Things are going to start looking scaley and colorful!

Check out my other blog posts, lots of dragon stuff: https://steemit.com/@telekrex
Artist donation: https://paypal.me/telekrex

Sort:  

The skin materials are looking pretty good, can't wait to see them on the...rig?

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the second half of Apr 27. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $3.37 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Apr 27 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.035
BTC 67020.94
ETH 3270.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.62