Balcony Garden Updates: Steve The Praying Mantis & Surprise Mushrooms

in #nature5 years ago

The summer is here and my little balcony jungle is attracting all kinds of insects and arachnids. In addition to bees, caterpillars, beetles and pests eating my salad greens, I've also noticed a little lizard and a praying mantis that has been hanging around my mint and spearmint container for over a week. Yay! Natural pest control!

So I decided to name him. Meet my praying mantis Steve, the slayer of small pests in my mint.

Even though the mobile camera of my LG v20 is a damn good one, Steve looks a lot sharper in real life.

Apparently, people actually do keep them as pets, and even write guides on how to care for them. Me, I am gonna let him do his thing in the mint container and not bother him.

If I ever needed a sign from nature to tell me I am overwatering, then random mushrooms in my containers at the end of June are that sign. So I am going to pay attention to my watering habits and you get to enjoy photos of tiny random shrooms.

Sort:  

Your garden become bigger from post to post :)

The balcony is the same size, there's just less room to step. :)

looks great! Love the little praying mantis!

oooh, I want a praying mantis, there are some lice on my strawberries... he would be so happy

Ugg blackfly are my bane. Turns out they are not flies at all but rather aphid like creature than get carried from plant to plant on the backs of ants. Grrr.

You've been visited by @nateonsteemit from Homesteaders Co-op.

Mantises are awesome. You can actually buy egg sacs of them called oothecas. I'm going to invest in some.


Homesteaders Co-op

A community marketplace of ethical, handmade and sustainable products available for STEEM, SBD (and USD): https://homesteaderscoop.com

follow: @homesteaderscoop

Hi, @techslut!

You just got a 0.05% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Hi @techslut!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 7.088 which ranks you at #67 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 1 places in the last three days (old rank 66).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 250 contributions, your post is ranked at #32.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Your follower network is great!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62025.78
ETH 2417.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49