Rainbow and our Belief

in #nature6 years ago

rainbow5.jpg

Have you ever seen “Rainbow”?

I think, no one say “No”.

Ah! Yes, it’s a phenomenon that occurs after the rain.

rainbow1.jpg

Our Thai words for “Rainbow” is “Rung Gin Nam”.

Rung means 7 colors of the rainbow

Gin means eat or drink

Nam means water

When we see Rung Gin Nam, we think, Rung, which we compare with something that is alive, is drinking water after the rain.

rainbow4.jpg

I believe that each country has its own belief about the rainbow and there are many stories or theories to explain the birth of the rainbow.

For Thailand, our ancient people believed that the rainbow was created by angel. Rainbow is alive, sacred, and mysterious. Therefore, our ancient people forbid us not to point our fingers at the rainbow, otherwise, our fingers would disappear.

When I was a child, I didn’t understand why my parent forbided me not to do that, but, I followed their instruction strictly even though I would love to point my finger to the beautiful rainbow to persuade my friends to see it with me.

When I grew up, I can learn that the real reason why they forbid us not to point our fingers at the rainbow is as to avoid any danger of our fingers to pierce the eyes of others.

As after the rain stop, we usually see the rainbow. And when many children gather together cheerfully to see the rainbow, they may point their fingers at the rainbow and accidentally hurt the eyes of others. That’s why this is forbidden.

rainbow6.jpg

Or, if the rainbow occurs in the East, we believe that there will be good things occur. (For me, I think, no matter where it occurs, good things will occur, for sure!)

How about your belief about rainbow?

p.s. I took photos of the rainbow over the city from the express way near Bangkok a few days ago.

Sort:  

I absolutely love your story about the beautiful rainbow my friend! And it so wise for elders to think of a way to avoid accidents because they know the children would surely gather around and gush about its pretty colors. In our language, we call the rainbow bahaghari, and I think I'll write about the Filipino beliefs about it too. Thank you for being such an inspiration! ❤❤❤

Many thanks for your great comment! And it seems that you understood well about our reason why it's forbidden not to point our fingers to the rainbow....

It's great to learn your language for rainbow and I'm happy to hear that you will write about the Filipino beliefs about it, too. I look forward to reading it with much interest. ;))

Haha i agree with you @tangmo. No matter where the rainbow comes from, good things will occur :)

So rare these days with no rain here haha.

Yeah! Great! "No matter where the rainbow comes from, good things will occur"...... ;))

Ah! In Thailand, it rains almost everyday..... So, it's not too hot nowadays! Ha ha! ;D

Thanks for your comment and sharing your experience with me. ;)

จำได้ว่าเมื่อตอนเด็กๆยายบอกว่า เวลาเห็นรุ้งกินน้ำ ห้ามชี้ ถ้าชี้แล้วนิ้วจะกุด 😆😀โดนหลอกกันเต็มๆ

อิอิ ใช่เลยค่ะ โดนกันถ้วนหน้าเลยค่ะ ;D

It is nice explanation the phenomenon of the rainbow ;)

For me, the rainbow is a symbol of God's mercy, which gives the sinner the assurance that the Lord Jesus, as an intermediary, intercedes for God with every human being and points the rainbow on the cloud as a proof of God's great mercy and compassion for a wandering man.

Greetings my sis.

BTW

I have already met couple people who are going to move to your beautiful country. They are really admire and say a lot of positive words about your land. I am happy that I know you.

:))))

Thanks so much for your nice comment and sharing the meaning of rainbow from your side with me. That's really great indeed!

Ah! I'm really glad to hear that the couple people that you met admire and say a lot of positive words about my country. This makes me have a wide smile now...... I'm happy that I know you, too. ;)))))

You sure did capture some beautiful photos of that beautiful rainbow. I have yet to be able to do that and it is on my bucket list. Your beliefs about the rainbow was interesting. Our belief is that the rainbow is the bridge to heaven. When I was younger, right after one of my relatives died, a rainbow appeared and I knew she was in heaven. : )

Many thanks for your nice comment and sharing your experience with me. I'm glad to hear that you like my capture of the rainbow and found our beliefs interesting. Your belief is great and it's very miracle that a rainbow appeared right after one of your relatives died.... She was in heaven, for sure!

It's good to know that this is on your bucket list and I'm looking forward to reading your story with much interest. ;)

Very nice capture of the rainbow!!
rainbows should bring joy and good luck to the beholders!!

Thanks a lot for your nice comment. I'm glad you like my capture of the rainbow! Yeah! I totally agree with you, "rainbows should bring joy and good luck to the beholders", for sure!!! ;)

Well, the rainbows gave me that message!

Cheers.

That's great! ;)

@tangmo, That's better explain about Rainbow and Belief. Beautiful photo clicks caught on time . I love these rainbow coloring.

Many thanks for your nice comment and your kind attention about our belief and my photos. I love these rainbow coloring, too. ;)

Wow beautiful photography and it is really look. thanks @tangmo
Have a great day

Thanks a lot for your nice comment. I'm happy you like the photos....

Have a nice day, too! ;)

What beautiful images dear friend @tangmo in all cultures the rainbow is synonymous with mistisismo.
Thank you very much for sharing the beliefs of your culture
I wish you a wonderful Sunday

Thanks a lot for your nice comment and stopping by. I'm glad you found the images and our beliefs interesting.

Wishing you a pleasant day, too! ;)

this rainbow is beautiful, every picture is wonderful @tangmo

Thanks a lot for your nice comment. I'm glad you found the pictures and the rainbow interesting! ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64222.08
ETH 3135.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99