Good Vibes #1: A little Positivity for your day

in #nature7 years ago (edited)

plants.jpg

The past couple years I have really been focused on letting go of my ego. Ego is such a difficult thing to release. It is the cause of almost all negative situations. Whenever I feel like I am struggling with judgment or ego I revert back to this truth, said by the beautiful intellectual Ram Dass:

"When you go out into the woods, and you look at trees, you see all these different trees. And some of them are bent, and some of them are straight, and some of them are evergreens, and some of them are whatever. And you look at the tree and you allow it. You see why it is the way it is. You sort of understand that it didn't get enough light, and so it turned that way. And you don't get all emotional about it. You just allow it. You appreciate the tree.

The minute you get near humans, you lose all that. And you are constantly saying 'You are too this, or I'm too this.' That judgment mind comes in. And so I practice turning people into trees. Which means appreciating them just the way they are." - Ram Dass.

What do you turn to when you feel like you need to raise your vibrations a couple notches?

P.S. Can you tell I am completely plant obsessed?

Sort:  

A pot of herbal tea and knitting does it for me these days. I love that quote... I haven't heard of Ram Dass. I might have to go on a research adventure.

Going out to the woods always settles my mind. Also, a cool little practice is to pretend everyone around you is enlightened, except yourself. Everyone has something to teach us!

Love this! What a cool idea!

Hello @tahneereece. Welcome to Steemit. I am David. I wish you have a happy journey here.

Cool read. That's a very a nice painting too. (Is that yourself in it, I'm wondering, btw? :) )

Thanks! And yes, it is actually a photograph of myself 😊

Well, it looks brilliant!! Thanks & cheers :D

You need another blog about your plants!! Haha love reading you.

Lol thanks! will be sure to do! I love talking about my plants!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 65051.86
ETH 3163.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54