Monkey Enjoying Sugarcane On My Roof

in #nature7 years ago

Hi there, I'm from Durban, South Africa! I'm lucky enough to live next to a beautiful Sugarcane field, which attracts all sorts of wildlife, including otters, weaving birds and Vervet Monkies. The monkeys are always on the lookout for good food, which includes the sugarcane stems. Here they are munching the sweet delights on the roof of my flat:

                                 

About a week ago our view included lush green fields, but then harvest time came around! Harvesting starts with setting the cane alight, to burn away dry leaves, making easier to cut for collection. They burn at night when it is cooler and the wind is settled:

                                  

Then the farmers come in with tractors and pangas to chop down the reeds. Filed workers then come in for collection. This is the aftermath:

                                       

This is when the monkies make daily visits and go crazy by enjoying the crisp pieces of sugar cane that is left behind!

Please do follow me, I'd LOVE the company!

Sort:  

Just because of your name, Sweetpea....
Adventure time?

I like the little monkey.

Hey, I am from Pietermaritzburg in KZN, we also have the monkeys doing that here, I live on a farm, sometimes I join the monkeys lol. nice to meet you here, I follow and vote.

Thank you, will follow you too :) nice to have a neighbor on Steemit!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62797.54
ETH 2442.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68