Daily Photo Shoot (8/25/17): Big Headed Ground Beetle (Scarites subterraneous)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #nature7 years ago

Big Headed Ground Beetle (Scarites subterraneous)


Image taken using Canon Rebel T3; Lens Model: EF-S18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS II (with a cheap screw on macro adapter); post processing performed using Darktable

Here, we have another scary looking creature that is actually very beneficial: the big headed ground beetle. These guys range anywhere from 1.5 - 2 cm long, and they are pretty common throughout most of the US. They are nocturnal hunters that hide underneath logs, mulch, or rocks during the day. I found this one under a rock that I had turned over in the flower garden. I couldn't get a good angle on without transporting it to my front porch (along with a small handful of dirt for it to hide in). It played dead for a couple of minutes, and I was able to gently pose it for a few pictures. Eventually, it realized that I wasn't fooled by its ploy and opted to run... and boy did it! S. subterraneous hunts down bugs and insects for a living, so they have to be pretty nimble.

As usual, I identified this specimen using bugguide.net. The defining characteristics were the narrow "waist" and the distribution of this particular species. Most other similar species are not commonly found where I live. Interestingly, I also noticed that they give off a strange smell when bothered. It wasn't putrid (or even all that off-putting), and it didn't burn or irritate the skin, but it was noticeable.

Monster Mandibles


Image taken using Canon Rebel T3; Lens Model: EF-S18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS II (with a cheap screw on macro adapter); post processing performed using Darktable

Big headed ground beetles use their pincer-like mandibles to capture their prey which may consist of the eggs, larvae, pupae, or even adult forms of insects, as well as other garden pests. When I find them around my yard, I will usually relocate them to my garden so they can help to eliminate slugs, snails, and caterpillars. I almost worked up the nerve to let this one bite me, but he got away before it could happen. Maybe next time?? If so, you'll find it here!

Sort:  

Nice discovery :)

I wish you a great day ;)

Congratulations @sustainablyyours! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62983.95
ETH 2962.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.58