FREE CRYSTAL! Most Common Elements of Earth's Crust - Perfect Specimen

in #nature6 years ago

q1.jpg

WOW! This was a great find from mineral rich Bancroft, Ontario, Canada.
There is nothing very special about this mineral, it's composed of the two most abundant crustal elements. Here you can see the crystal form perfectly preserved. Notice the hexagonal structure, it is derived from the atomic building blocks of oxygen and silica. Can you guess what it is yet?

IMG_20180218_141914.jpg

The crystals are able to form because of the cavities. Crystals will only show their true form if they are allowed to grow in a void. Hot (hyrdrothermal) fluids were once flowing through this rock and when the fluids started to cool the void space in the rock allowed for the precipitation of Quartz crystals.

My background is in geology and I'm excited to share more of my collection in the future!

Sort:  

I am fascinated with that process. Thank for sharing.
Joy

Thanks @sweetjoy I'm glad you liked it, will definitely have more for you soon

Yes and I may have a couple of questions. Lol. I love learning. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66095.77
ETH 3184.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.12