Sunscape's Backyard Bluejays - A Family Affair... Bringing the young Jays to the feeder.

in #nature8 years ago

Bluejay

The Bluejay sports bright blue feathers with white and black throughout the wings and tail. A prominent crest of feathers atop their head add interest as the black ring flows down around the neck, as if it were wearing a necklace. Even their bills are often blue in color.

The average size of a Bluejay is around 12" or 30 cm. They prefer wooded areas that have a lot of Oak trees as nuts are one of their favorite foods. I have watched them bury acorns from the Oak trees in the woods behind us all throughout my gardens. So I would have to say they are great little forestation birds, helping to plant future Oak trees. ;-)

If you observe them long enough in the spring time, you can discover what conifer tree they have built their nest in. You can recognize their nests easily by the large, rough - shaped stick nest that is fully lined with grass. The eggs are light green with brownish spots and they usually average 3 - 4 babies per season. The family that nested in my yard this year had 3 offspring.

Eating the sunflower seeds at the bird feeder

Deciding which seed looks more delightful

Watching and waiting for treats to arrive

One of the parents will often sit on the branch outside the kitchen window and call to me to bring them some peanuts out first thing in the morning. They even gather around when they see me feeding the squirrels peanuts in the afternoon to get in on the feasting.

Young Bluejay

This young Bluejay flew down from the tree branch overhead for a peanut just like it's parents, a very quick learner. The adults are sitting close by on the branches observing with a watchful eye as the young ones enjoy a meal.

This young jay is just starting to get a crest of feathers atop it's head.

Togetherness!

Mother and young jay enjoying the morning cracked corn and sunflower seeds at the feeder.

Thank you for stopping by to view my backyard, feathered friends. I hope you enjoyed the photos.

Until next time, this is Sunscape
Sun. Scape. Ing your day

Previous Posts @sunscape
My Website
My Etsy Store
My Tweets on Twitter

Sort:  

They are such beautiful birds. If they were more rare, people would be so excited by their bold colors. I love how their tail feathers really glow in your photos.

Thank you @haphazard-hstead, they truly are beautiful. The tail feathers are stunning.

These Bluejays are a delight to watch everyday as I sit on my back porch. It is amazing to me how quickly the birds grow and their feathers finally fill in.

Wow, they look so beautiful. I don`t think we have those one in Panama.

I think they like the cooler climates sweetie. You will have to visit me in N.Y. to enjoy these pretty birds.

Great shots! We get Bluejays around here as well, they are beautiful creatures. :)

Thank you for the compliment. I enjoy them at the feeder.

I miss the Jays that I used to see when I lived in the South. Thank you for posting, it brought back delightful memories.

You are very welcome, I enjoy having them at the feeder. They used to be annoying but I have gotten them on a schedule now and they know when I am going to feed them. lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58068.07
ETH 3133.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44