Look Whos Back For The Summer...

in #nature7 years ago (edited)

This bright orange and black bird is a Baltimore Oriole who has returned to enjoy the summer months here in New York. They love to feast on insects, nectar and fruit. You are very fortunate if you can attract them to your yard as soon as they arrive from the south. If they see a food source and like your location, they will choose to stay and nest nearby.

If you are trying to attract the Baltimore Orioles you will need to have a feeder that is bright orange, their favorite color. ;-) They love the same nectar as hummingbirds, which is 4 parts water and 1 part sugar, boil and cool before filling the feeder. Make sure the feeder has large enough perches and ports for their beaks to get to the nectar.

Another attraction for them is a birdbath. They love bathing and if you have a bubbling brook or fountain, all the better. Be patient when trying to set up a feeder for them, as it may take awhile for them to locate you. If they do come, be sure to offer them a treat now and then of fresh sliced oranges, an Oriole favorite.


Thank you for stopping by my post, I hope you enjoyed it.
Until next time, this is Sunscape...

Sun. Scape. Ing your day

Previous Posts @sunscape
My Website
My Etsy Store - Sunscapes Soaps & Soaks
My Etsy Store - Crystal Vibrations
My Tweets on Twitter

Sort:  

Thank you for the beautiful pics. We don't get to see orioles out in california.

I am surprised seeing that you are so close to Mexico where they often migrate from. You have beautiful birds that we never see here in NY.

Such a beautifully coloured bird. So fortunate for a photographer that they are attracted to orange. Such wonderful images. ☀️🙏☀️

Thank you as always for your wonderful comments and upvotes.

Amazing bird! Colors are gorgeous!

They are so bright and have a sharp tone when they sing.

Lovely bird , I myself like to feed the birds

Thank you, we feed them all the time here.

I do in the 🇬🇧 uk I should one day do a proper post cheers for the reply

You should we would love to see your birds

I definitely will but I probably need to get a better camera to do them justice

awesome post from @sunscape. love it! Upvoting right now.

Thank you @jimscope I appreciate the support and compliments.

Great Photos!
Thanks for sharing and Steem on :)

Thank you @jcsteem I love having them visit my bird feeders.

They are so pretty. I like their song too. The one that comes by our place has a song to the rhythm and pitch of "Rah Rah Sis Boom Ba!" I'm following you now. -Jim

That is so cool @teaandkisses that you know there song. I love it! Following you back.

very nice :) I saw them just a few months ago in Costa Rica, where they are winter residents ;)

That is so cool, they are so beautiful and I get so happy when they come back.

So freaking gorgeous!!

I know right! Love it when the Orioles show up!

Such a beautiful combination of colors! Nice shots :D

Thank you very much!

You are welcome. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67271.13
ETH 3515.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70