California Scrub-Jay : New species!

in #nature6 years ago

IMG_0120.jpg

California Scrub-Jay (Aphelocoma californica) until recently, the Western Scrub-Jay. They split the western scrub-jay into three species in 2016. These active, chatty birds are very common in my neighborhood. Hard to walk around the block without seeing one or two. They often hang out in groups of two or three.

IMG_0127.jpg

IMG_0117.jpg

Dublin, California. October 2018. All photos original.

Sort:  

All nice shots ... the middle one with the bird chilling on the fence is my favorite of the three.

Beautiful bird! I saw it once when I was in Santa Barbara, and I went after it for photo ops and got us late to church, lol..I am a nut!

ha ha I fellow nature lover :)

Fullscreen, beautiful pics ! Well done.

Thanks I'm loving this camera :)

@steven-patrick
I have never seen a scrub-jay.
Wow. Beautiful bird
(:

Yes they are pretty and also fun to watch because they are so active

Nice! Do they sing too?

Nah they are squawkers more. Not as harsh and noisy as the crows but they squawk

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68845.40
ETH 3281.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65