TOOT - check out the size of this Long Horned Lightening Bug

in #nature8 years ago

This morning my youngest son came to me very excited. He had found a beetle he'd never seen and it was HUGE.

Come quick, he said... I dragged myself out of bed and went to my back verandah expecting to find a common small beetle or bug.

To my surprise I found the biggest longhorned lightening bug I've ever seen.


iPhone 6s : @stephen-somers

A quick search of the Queendsland museum website found this.

Longicorn Beetle

It shows, sometimes you need to look through the world with the eyes of a child.

It is full of wonder.

This post is tagged as my first TOOT - def: a short blast of a steam whistle

Sort:  

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the first half of Nov 29. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $7.96 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Nov 29 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Ill stay here and look at my phone screen ... your way too close lol

I tried to take a pic when it was on my hand but I haven't mastered the left hand iPhone 📱 operation. Dropped the bettle and almost the phone 6 m to the ground.

Love that Bronze / Copper colors
Beautiful
Did you check my Insects lately?

Love your bug pics.

If I have a macro-camera that will be peRRRRRRRRFFFFFect

Add another thing On my Christmas list.

Put in my wish list.
Macro-Photography

Lol. Never even thought of it that way. Lol. Whatever works to get attention.

That is one big ass lightening bug. I here they taste like almonds.

Crunchy I'm sure. Not quite that hungry yet.

Around here, they make little squeaking noises if you grab them and hold them by your ears.

Wanna give it a try and let me know?

Lol. Yep no probs. make a good post that one.

Cool, I like doing it myself!

I'll be looking forward to that post!

The lightening Bug worked..tonight we had a cracker of an early Summer Thunderstorm with some much needed rain.

We have now had thunderstorms every day since the lightening bug appeared. Take heade of natures signs. The ants are going crazy too , something must be building.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65969.85
ETH 3429.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68