Epic Road Trip 2017: Day 10 - Helena - GLACIER PARK - And Saving My Keister Twice In One Day

in #nature7 years ago (edited)

You can't beat a day full of jaw-dropping vistas, hiking, buffalo burgers, and Manuka honey band-aids.  

Day 10 - August 10, 2017

From: Helena, Montana to Glacier National Park (Montana) to Rural Northern Idaho

Total Driving Miles - About 575

Total Driving Time - About 12 hours

Total Hiking Miles - 5

Total Hiking Time - About 1 hour 15 min.

Mood - Refreshed and boisterous with a side of relish

Music - LTJ Bukem

I woke up at my airbnb in Helena feeling refreshed, unlike the previous 2 nights of sleeping in the car.  Before I made my way to Glacier Park, though, I had to tend to my sore rear end.  

The first thing I did to alleviate my "pressure sore" (from sitting too much) was to sit on my blanket and sometimes also on my trusty pizza pillow.

The next thing I did was go to a pharmacy and see if they had any special types of bandages for just such an ailment.  The super friendly staff (one thing I love about small towns and cities) gave me various recommendations (with a straight face).  

I went with the Manuka honey bandages, and I'm happy to report, that within a few days, I was pain free and back to normal.

On the way to Glacier Park, I found a funny little restaurant/bar called Buffalo Joe's in tiny Dupuyer, MT.  I had a buffalo burger and couldn't resist snapping a photo of some of their comical decor.

I got to the Glacier Park entrance around 5pm, was extorted for 30 dollars by a guy in a costume who is funded by theft (taxation).  Driving from east to west on Going-To-The-Sun Road, it was baffling to see so many breathtaking scenes in such a short frame of time.

I stopped around 6:15 at a trailhead just off the road and decided to do a little hiking.  I didn't bring my camera because it looked like it might rain.  I don't remember the name of the trail, but I know the distance was about 5 miles (the first half of which was uphill) and the elevation was over 6,000 ft.  I knew that the sun would be setting around 8:30, so I thought I had plenty of time.

However.....

What I didn't take into account was the dark clouds making it dark sooner.  I also didn't think "gee, this isn't a lit trail.  If it gets dark out there, I'll be stuck in the woods in the dark (and chilly, with no jacket)."

I also didn't bring any water with me.

Have you figured out that I'm not a typical outdoorsy type person?

It started thundering about 20 minutes into the hike.

I gulped. 

The uphill battle seemed to take forever but I finally reached the destination (a lake) after about 50 minutes, gulped down some air for a minute, then turned around and headed back.  

And that's when it started raining.  Nothing heavy, but a steady shower.  Luckily, there are thick and quite immense Cedar trees all along the trail, so I was shielded for the most part.  The thunder and showers along with the increasing darkness provided a plethora of motivation and I started running, jumping, and flinging myself downhill in order to save my keister once again.

I triumphantly (and with mad heaving breaths) made it back to my car around 7:30 (the downhill hiking went much faster).  Endorphins shot joyously and rampantly through my brain and I was relieved to be safe.  Just moments later, a real DOWNPOUR started.  

Whew!

After leaving the park shortly thereafter, I found a coffee shop and made my next airbnb reservation for the following night.

Juiced up on coffee and adrenaline from the hike, I drove well into the night, and slept in the car at a rest area off I-90 in Northern Idaho.

Stay tuned! Next stop.....Seattle!

Thanks for your time and attention!


Thanks to @papa-pepper for the logo

Thanks to @hilarski for the steeming cats

Sort:  

Hi there, @steeminganarchy Great post. Enjoyed reading. We are from The Curator. (A post style magazine on Steemit) We do curating for informative, creative, entertaining, yet undervalued posts. We love your fantastic post. And we feel that it is undervalued. We would like to share it in our magazine. But first, we would like to ask for your permission to add your post to our next issue, With a picture from your post. That we will use as a thumbnail, We will share a portion of the post gifts. With the posts that we share in the upcoming issue. If you agree to this. Please let us know below this comment. At your earliest convenience.
Thank you. PostHuntress, @the-curator
And keep on Steeming your adventuresome posts.

Sounds good to me. Permission granted! Thanks

Hi, @steeminganarchy You're welcome. And thank you very much.
Have a great day/evening.
PostHuntress, @the-curator

Hi. Just letting you know thar we have posted issue #12 of The Curator.
Thank you so much. We hope you like it.
PostHuntress, @the-curator

Looking for adventure only to be reminded taxation is theift. Nice pictures. Safe travels.

Thanks. I'm somewhat surprised how well the pics turned out, considering I took most while driving.

Looking for adventure only to be reminded taxation is theift.

True. Thanks for reading!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67310.11
ETH 3522.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71