Wild moss that grows on land chili

in #nature8 years ago

Steemians, because of the high rainfall, the land that I will make a pepper plant, already overgrown with moss wild

because groundwater is already full, so it is not absorbed anymore, up in my land flooded

For a while, I did not use this area, until the rainy season ends.

You can see the photos below, I hope you like it

you like it.

Follow me @steemgold

thank you

Sort:  

Wow! That is really flooded. It looks like your higher ground drains OK, though. Can you drain off the water to anywhere else?

I think those tiny little plants are duckweed (Lemnoideae). I know that some people eat it, if the soil or water is not contaminated, but I have never tried it. Other people use it to feed ducks or as fertilizer. Do you use it somehow? Thanks!

Yes, I was going to say that - Duck weed. Great for compost and absolutely edible but high in oxalic acid(?) and should be used as flavoring instead of a staple.

My understanding is that the species and water quality make a big difference. The folks who have established traditions of eating duckweed would have "the good stuff" versus any of us just scooping it up from a farm ditch or creek. I'm not so concerned about the oxalic acid, which is in so many plants and bound up by eating calcium-rich foods, like cheese or milk.

But any duckweed that has high calcium oxalate would be something else. No amount of boiling will take care of that, only thorough dehydration. Calcium oxalate is the same stuff that's in skunk cabbage leaves. It's painful unless it's treated right. Based on experience, it's one way I separate out books where the authors just repeat information without actually trying stuff out, versus books where people have real experience. Great for compost, for sure, for any of the duckweed! There must be a lot of nitrogen on those fields! : )

Yes. I was just reading up on that in case my comment was misleading. I actually have duckweed growing in my little indoor ponds and occasionally take a little in my salads. But kidney stones? Not worth the little bit of spice it brings. I read that you can grow them in low mineral water and it "might be safe", but that's not good enough for me.

I eat a lot of plants that have oxalic acid in them, like Swiss chard, rhubarb, spinach, and plenty others. So I compare any wild foods to some of these and adjust accordingly. It's one reason I like using so many different wild plants - no one is going to be dominant in what I eat.

thank you, it has been explained to me @haphazard-hstead

yes right, thanks for the information @baerdric

yes, the villagers took them, to feed the ducks @haphazard-hstead

Thanks! That seems like a good use of them. The ducks can handle whatever they get - much better than people. I figured that people in your area are very efficient and resourceful! : )

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57797.87
ETH 3067.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29