Hunting Squirrel on opening day: Mostly walking around forest tasting things.

in #nature6 years ago (edited)


My friend @ryulincoln and I headed into the forest on opening day for Squirrel season in Georgia. We each took .22 caliber weapons out into the forest to look for Squirrel. Using barkers we called out for them and got a few replies off in the distance. We saw more signs of boar than much squirrel. We saw prints in the dirt, bedding areas and smelled something in the air a few times that made us think it was bigger than a Squirrel.

We walked up hills and down into creeks, went into wildflower meadows along with some growing higher than we were tall.

I found some Honeysuckle, shown in the thumbnail. If you find the right ripeness it has a honey flavor down in the stem.

By the middle of the day we called it quits, only finding signs of animals and almost no visual sightings. Still had fun walking around and trying out the Honeysuckle.

#hunting #squirrel #pig #boar #smallgame #plants #food #flowers


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Only had time to watch the first few minutes, but awesome! I'll be back tonight to finish it. Funny you see them everywhere the go hunting and there is none.

Posted using Partiko iOS

@balticbadger

Yeah funny how that works out, I was surprised we didnt see any.

Dude. You guys had a lot of fun! I was gonna ask what kind of boots they were. But you answered my question! I had a pair for wildfire out in South Dakota... Well still have them best boots I ever had and I had Oakleys and Bates in the Army they just don't compare. I can tell by the shine you take good care of them. You are certainly a man of impeccable taste! Love this kind of stuff please take us along again next time too!

@balticbadger

Glad you got the video working, yep they are Danner boots. Some of the most expensive boots ive purchased yet. But ive put upwards of 10 miles in a day with these boots and they are great. They look badass too, some people cosplay with them and do steampunk stuff with it hah.

Good to know they are good boots, ive had them for about a year now. And will do, now I have an actioncam it makes it much easier to get footage out in the woods.

thanks for watching it!

I love the yellow butterfly just chilling on the sunflower 😊🦋💛

@activate.alpha

It sure was, I tried to get as close as possible to it. Many butterflies all over that mountain, it was nice seeing them.

Ah, okay haha, you do shoot squirrels lol (at least "tried to"). Nice adventure my friend although I can't watch the whole video. Stopped after about ten minutes because of buffering... DTube definitely needs to improve. I feel like it does (slowly but surely).

@gandalfthewhite

yup thats why we brought guns, and for protection from wild boars.

Damn, maybe try again later. Dtube seems to go through periods of poor video playback. It happens to some of my other followers as well.

I think d.tube is improving, now videos weeks and months old can still be played. People complained about that awile back. And seems overall their playback is better. But still has issues sometimes.

True, wild boars definitely can be dangerous.

I'll probably try again in a few hours. Thx for clarifying.

Yes, I think you're right.

Welcome.
I am a Fish-bot that supports fishing posts.
Thank you for publishing the post and use of the myhuntingfishing,fishing or pl-wedkarstwo tag, which I rewarded with "upvote".
If you care about the development of this bot, all you need is to like this comment, and the power of this fish-bot will grow. Thank you
Witaj.
Jestem Rybo-botem wspierającym tag pl-wedkarstwo i myhuntingfishing
Dziękuje Ci za opublikowanie posta i użycia tagu pl-wedkarstwo lub myhuntingfishing oraz fishing, który nagrodziłem "upvoutem". Jeśli będzie Ci zależało na rozwoju tego rybo-bota wystarczy byś w rewanżu "upwoutował" czyli polubił ten komentarz a moc tego rybo-bota będzie rosła. Dziękuje
Добро пожаловать
Я рыба-бот, который поддерживает рыболовные посты.Спасибо за Ваше сообщение и использование тегов pl-wedkarstwo, fishing или myhuntingfishing который является наградой «upvoutem ». Если вы заботитесь о развитии этого рыцаря, все, что вам нужно сделать, это «взволноваться» в матче-реванше, то есть, как этот комментарий, и сила этого fisboot будет увеличиваться. спасибо

977ed90d51b801891e07b99740d68a9e.gif

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63402.76
ETH 2554.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66