Dolphins at Sunset

in #nature6 years ago


Have you ever wished you had a camera with you at certain times? I have many times. I remember one such time about 17 years ago. I had been fishing with my friend Ed in Newfoundland, we'd been out most of the day, much of that spent at his cabin just off the open water in a inlet. The name of the place was Femme... pronounced FOMM!

 


We had jigged a few codfish, had cleaned them and were on our way home. The sun was just starting to set, and it looked like it was touching the water, so much so, I was almost expecting to see steam rise from the water. We had just exited the inlet and were now on open water, and there wasn't a breeze, the air was still, and the water a beautiful calm, reflecting the sun.

 

As we hit open water, there to our delight was a string of dolphins several hundred long, and 3 and 4 wide swimming along, and jumping and playing along their way. Between their playing and jumping as the sun was falling, all the while the dolphins were reflected in the falling glow of the sun. I think that I shall never see another sight such as all that Mother Nature has to offer.


Ed and I were both hypnotized by this wonder, sitting in the boat, transfixed, and in total awe. We watched till we could see them no more, and both of us were completely silent, we had no words to describe the beauty and wonder we had just witnessed. When we finally got over our amazement, almost in unison, we both said, "I wished I'd have had a camera with me."

Ed and I had saw many wonders of Mother nature on our trips, whales, often breeching beside the boat, a sunfish, looking like a big bowl of jello floating along in the water, bald eagles diving from the sky only to come up with a fish wriggling in its beak.

 


 


 

Sometimes when we would be setting lobster traps and placing herring in them, we would have hundreds of seagulls flying just over our heads, and we would throw a herring up and watch a gull pick it out of the air, like a dog catching a frisbee!


Often passing inlets and seeing a moose on the shore, grazing on seaweed, and sometimes a cariboo. Speaking of which, we had once went to an island to do some clam digging. We had went ashore on a rocky place, no good for digging, and Ed told me the best digging was on the other side of the island, but couldn't be reached by water, so we had to walk, it was a small island, and it would only take a few minutes to reach where we wanted to go.

 

 

 

We were just climbing a rise to reach our destination, walking along a game trail, when suddenly a cariboo


jumped up just off the trail and almost knocking me over, it was so close I felt a breeze from it rising and running off.

 

 

 

 

I saw some amazing sights in my time, but never anything so memorable as those many dolphin, those many years ago...

I just wanted to mention the photos. Most of the pictures in this post were taken by a very dear friend of mine. Her name is Bonnie Dominix and she has an eye for great photos. I cropped and resized many, so the edits i made don't do her work justice, but I thank her for such great images.


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://skiponlinenow.com/dolphins-at-sunset/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63131.59
ETH 2586.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78