Drying Rose Petals

in #nature6 years ago

Roses6.jpg

I've made a spirited move towards a more natural lifestyle these past few months. I'm making many of the products I used to buy, right in my kitchen! As a homemaker I'm a busy bee, making everything from toothpaste, toilet wipes, bath bombs to facial products and cleaners. I've fallen deep into the DIY rabbit hole and refuse to come out. This whole change has really forced me to chuck many of my prior go-to beauty goods in the trash and seek out healthier replacements. I've always considered rose products to be incredibly luxurious and wanted to incorporate them into my regimen. Fresh flowers are very expensive, especially organic varieties. In today's post, I'm going to show you an incredibly easy way to dry and store flower petals for later use.

Roses1.jpg

I'm working with roses today, but you can use almost any flower you like. If you plan to adorn facial or bath goodies with flowers, they must be free of herbicide, pesticide, and other harmful chemicals. Drying flowers that have been "treated" can concentrate the chemicals making them more potent and dangerous for the body. The flowers I'm using are Veriflower certified, these are not organic and can't be put into pretty skincare goods.

Roses4.jpg

You won't need much for this DIY, though a good airtight jar is essential as we want to keep our blooms for as long as possible.

Roses7.jpg

Peel back your roses and pluck away the easy to tear petals, attempting to keep the petals intact. I pluck them down to the inner bits but leave enough to keep the center covered.

Roses2.jpg

You can toss your petals in a sieve to make rinsing easier or just sort them into a bowl, picking up small handfuls to wash. Rinse until every petal has had a bath, the lot should be free of bugs and debris.

Roses5.jpg

Preheat your oven to 200 degrees Fahrenheit and arrange petals in a single layer on a parchment covered cookie sheet. Bake for 10 minutes and check the petals. If your petals have retained any moisture at all, place them back in the oven for 2 minutes and recheck. Petals should be crisp and break easily. Do be careful not to overcook them!

Roses3.jpg

Dried petals can be stored in an airtight jar for later use.

separator-steemit_pink.png

That's it for me. As always I appreciate you spending time with me today. I would also like to give a warm welcome to my new followers! I hope you have a fantastic rest of your day and I look forward to seeing you again.

Did you miss any of my latest posts? Catch up and don't forget to give that "Upvote" button some love!!

Sort:  

Congratulations @shoogie! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board of Honor

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @shoogie! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 66338.04
ETH 3306.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69