No PARTY !! I planted some trees on my birthday.

in #nature7 years ago (edited)

We are on the verge of crossing the climate change tipping point.

Instead of celebrating my birthday in a typical style and having a party,I decided to try something new. I decided to play my part in cleaning of the environment. As our planet is in dire need of some Green plants, I thought it would be a good idea to plant some trees instead. Moreover, I will be reminded (on my birthdays) to track my trees every year. Thus, knowing how much growth they have had.

IMG_20170724_184052.jpg

IMG_20170724_184056.jpg

Few months back, I read a story on BBC (A research study) which claimed that we are at a tipping point of climate change. Which means, we have reached "the point of no return", and if we go any further from this. We are heading towards a catastrophe that would be inexorable.

IMG_20170724_184059.jpg

IMG_20170724_184237.jpg

Here is one of my favorite quotes that galvanized me to take this action.

“The best time to plant a tree was 20 years ago. The second best time is now.” – Chinese Proverb.

I hope you liked this minuscule effort of mine to make earth a better place. I have decided to donate all the earnings from this post to this mission.

Regards.

Sort:  

Amazing idea. I completely agree with you on the point that we reached a point where we have to decide about the climate change. And yes the time is NOW. We should have been less careless a couple of decades ago but we weren't. What kind of planet are we leaving for our future generations? We have to decide.
But anyway, apart from all the emotional discussion on planet earth, Happy Birthday (Belated). Keep up the good work for our planet

Wow! Happy birthday! This is such an amazing idea! I LOVE it! There are so many aspects to it which make it something I feel like we all should do- why don't we do this? We need more trees and it's so cute of an idea to be able to go see how big it gets as the years pass. Happiest of birthdays to you my friend, I will be joining you in this for all of my birthdays to come!
:)
XO,
💜-2-💜

Thanks for the wishes. Really liked your comment. It was indeed the happiest birthday of my life, as I felt a strange sense of satisfaction after doing this deed.

@shehbaznawaz What an excellent idea!

Please tell me, which trees did you plant? Have you ever heard about guerrilla gardening ? It's about growing trees and plants until a certain point and then plant them somewhere in the city - at night of course. I would love to try it!

I Upvoted you for this great idea of deciding to have a very different birthday party. xx

Oh, and of course, before I forget. HAPPY BIRTHDAY! Herzlichen Glückwunsch zum Geburtstag! x

tree.png

Thanks for the wish. I liked it in Deutsche :D, BTW I have spent some time in Germany, are you from Germany ?

Thanks @elenahornfilm, Well a few of them were fruit trees like guava etc. and some of them were purely for the shade. I don't even know their name as I just picked whatever I liked from the nursery. About the "guerrilla gardening". No, hearing this word from you for the first time, but I know the concept. It's quite popular here...

Hi... You have done a great job...

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by shehbaz from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57567.29
ETH 2568.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50