You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The last male Northern white rhinoceros (Ceratotherium simum cottoni) died this Monday; there are now only females left of the subspecies

in #nature7 years ago

I remember reading the post about this a few weeks ago. It is incredibly sad that the animals get poached for seemingly no reason. I wish we were more aware of our surroundings. Hopefully they can bring this animal back from basically extinction.

Sort:  

Yeah, this is very sad indeed..

Hopefully they can bring this animal back from basically extinction.

That would be amazing, but things are not looking too bright right now with only females left. Let's see how the artificially breeding with another subspecies will turn out :)

I guess they save some sperm from a male, but I am not sure if they saved any eggs from a female? I guess they could try and take one from one of the two left living, but I don’t know how risky that would be. Also, I am not sure how that would affect genetics since they are offspring I believe of Sudan.

They actually got eggs from the females a while back. They are not really in very good conditions since the remaining females are pretty old, so it's not certain that they will even work. But some scientists believe that they can use a Southern white rhino as a host womb, so at least they got that going.

But yeah, the genetics are another problem entirely, and in total there are so many issues that needs to be solved before this subspecies can be brought back.

This is going to be interesting! I really hope they can pull off this dire situation!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62647.29
ETH 2439.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66