With the start of fire season here, I thought I would share some pictures of these guys.

in #nature5 years ago (edited)

P1010959.JPGLast year was my last year as a Wildland firefighter as well as Asst. Trail Foreman. I don't think I've ever worked with a more dedicated group of people. I thought I would post some pictures as kinda a tribute to our Wildland firefighters. There has been a lot of deaths in the fire fighting community the last couple years. Stay safe guys.
P1010978.JPG

P1010943.JPG

1375151_10202324885150026_525464411_n.jpg

Please Upvote, Resteem and Follow.

fire.jpg

Sort:  

Firefighters do a great job and risk their lives.

Support our Wildland Firefighters!

I don't find this sad I find this very ignorant. When we the Indigenous, lived here without the settlers, we took care of our land and forests and we would have burnings to prevent large forest fires. As well, we took very good care of all our land and resources and did not desecrate our earth.

This is beyond fucking stupid, every year fires, same thing, no action taken. More pollution to increase global warming. What the fuck do you expect.

Too bad these people are dying for no good reason. They are seen as nothing more than useless slaves in the eyes of our masters.

I agree with some of what your saying. Most wildland firefighters would say if it's not going to threaten any lives or structures, let it burn. The general public is ignorant about the fact that fire is a natural part of the ecosystem. When the public starts screaming about a fire showing up, our politicians start streaming about putting the fire out. Since around 1910, when "The Big Burn" happened, our leaders decided that "fire bad, put it out". Notice I didn't say support our "masters". I said support our firefighters.

Here's a good example of public perception of fire. We started putting together crews to manage fires instead of putting them out. We called them Fire Use Modules. The public was outraged by the thought that we wouldn't put out a fire if we had the chance.

As far as what you said about "no good reason", I don't think you would say that if your house was threatened. Not sayin, just sayin.

These houses are on stolen land!!!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59933.20
ETH 3191.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44