The Man who saw the birth of a Volcano..

in #nature7 years ago

image

Volcanoes can be catastrophhic events, but everything has its light side. With Volvanoes, even the light side can be truly amazing. One of those amazing things is witnessed by Dominic Pulido, a farmer.

Uruapan, Mexico, 1943

It was during mid February of 1943, Dominic Pulido gets ready to plant his cornfield. Wait a minute! Something is already growing there. In his own words..

italic“In the afternoon I joined my wife and son, who were watching the sheep, and inquired if anything new had occurred, since for two weeks we had felt strong tremors in the region. Paula relied replied that she had heard noise and thunder underground. Scarcely had she finished speaking when I myself, heard a noise, like thunder during a rainstrom, but I could not explain it, for the sky above was clear and the day was peaceful, as it is in February.

image

italic“At 4 P.M., I left my wife to set fire to a pile of branches when I noticed that a grotto [grove] which was situated on one of the knolls of my farm, had opened… and I saw that it was a kind of fissure that had a depth of only half a meter. I set about to ignite the branches again, when I felt a thunder, the trees trembled, and I turned to speak to Paula; and it was then I saw how, in the hole, the ground swelled out and raised itself two and one-half meters high, and a kind of smoke or fine dust-gray, like ashes began to rise up in a portion of crack. Immediately more smoke began to rise, with a hiss or whistle, loud and continues, and there was a smell of sulfur. I then became greatly frightened.”

image

Dominic Pulido and his wife had witnessed the birth off a volcano, Paricutin. By 8 the next morning, the “baby” was 32 feet (20m) high. Most of the explosive activity was in the first year, when the cone grew to 1,100 feet (336m). By the time it weent Dormant, in 1952, it was 1,390 feet (424 m) tall.

Source: Internet, Discovery Channel

Follow, resteem and upvote @sasiyedavalli

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by sasiyedavalli from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63799.64
ETH 3130.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97