THE EYE OF THE STORM LOOKS SO INVITING!

in #nature6 years ago (edited)

20180405_074950.jpg

20180405_074646.jpg
Look how the circular eye lines up with the pond shape.

Woke up early with a spring in my step, decided to go to the beach I haven't been for a while since I have been sick.
There is nothing like being bare footed with shorts and a shirt on and feeling the sand squish as you walk along.
The salt air was relinquishing my sinuses and the soft gentle breeze was refreshing my soul.

So I looked for where I might find things and notice seaweed to the left of me and shells to the right.
This beach is called middle beach because its a cove between two other lengthy beaches, about 4oo meters long with caves at one end and rockpools at the other.

The tide was half way out and on it's way back in, there wasn't to much swell or wave activity.
So I thought I would start where the shells were first, there were foot prints before me, so someone's probably picked up the pretty shells first. That's ok because I'm looking for different things.

20180405_072859.jpg

BLEACHED CORAL ABOUT THE SIZE OF THE PALM OF YOUR HAND.

20180405_074140.jpg

BLEACHED CORAL

20180405_074131.jpg

BLEACHED CORAL

20180405_073014.jpg

20180405_074011.jpg

So I was finding all of these small bits of coral everywhere. No one usually picks these up or looks at them because they're so fixated on the shells.

So why are they here?
The answer lies in the other direction....

So there wasn't to much that was interesting other than the coral and the storm brewing on the horizon behind me. so I headed the other way.

20180405_074057.jpg

SO THE REASON FOR THE CORAL BEING HERE IS BECAUSE OF THE SEAWEED, BUT WHY?

20180405_074604.jpg

Seaweed washing in with large waves an strong currents besides storm surges.
The seaweed doesn't just provide food and oxygen, it also provides a home and security to the reef systems.

Seaweed doesn't have roots it has a system called hold fast, it holds on to the reefs, other seaweed, rock and whatever will hold it down.

20180405_074433.jpg

SEAWEED HOLD FAST, THAT'S WHY THERE IS SO MANY PIECES OF CORAL BECAUSE IT HAS COME AWAY FROM THE SEAWEED.

So what treasures did I find to take home for schooling?

I found port jackson shark eggs 2 of them empty.
The mother shark lays the egg in the seaweed and screws it in with her mouth, so once the seaweed is disturbed the shark eggs wash ashore too.

20180405_074232.jpg

The other things I was looking for were sea sponges and I found some nice ones in the seaweed.

20180405_074210.jpg

20180405_080607.jpg

So you never no what you're going to find and then the fun part is learning about it. Soon I will go into more individual detail about these things.

ACTUALLY THERE WAS ONE LAST THING THAT I DID FIND AND UNFORTUNATELY IT'S QUITE COMMON, WHAT DO YOU THINK?

20180405_074828.jpg

20180405_074913.jpg

This is what you call human stupidity! Shameful discovery.

Context and photos by Sanddrift

Sort:  

i upvote on your 3 posts,Now its your turn to do back!U5drUZSMFVTy6UuuqMozi3qcY9Gdb9q_1680x8400.jpg

That's not how it works, if i like your content then i will vote. Besides i cant see anymore votes.

Agreed, Well said, still I do not understand if they think that works....

yes. I know

This kind of comments annoy the hell out of me!

you're right on both counts.

Nature can be so breathtaking!!
Love it!

Breathtaking picture... I have a song that says "I can see the world through the eye on the storm" the striking against the sullen gray is great.

Sounds great and interesting

very interesting post. those sea sponges, are they usable?

i have nominated your post for a trophy token. good luck 8-)

yes they are, and there is plenty of the popular sponges that I dident show.

Thank you is it made out of gold

24K. of course.

Great shots mate! Feel a bit sorry for the shark egg...

They have already hatched so it's ok

The shark egg wrapped in seaweed is sick! Looks like something out of this world. Something you would see in a fantasy movie. That is a lot of cool finds you got there.


Congratulations! You were nominated for a TROPHY TOKEN award HERE by @koskl. Please comment your Bitshares address to receive your reward! You can also contact us on Discord @Trophy-Token. Thank you for being a great Steemian!
trophy4.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64668.46
ETH 3173.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58