Today was a Monkey day! The Macaques came to visit on mass :)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #nature7 years ago

They arrived at 8am and stayed for a good hour, eating the green bananas and young papaya leaves around our home.

Here are a few shots I was able to take...

Which actually wasn't all that easy as Esteban (my 2 year old) was screaming with excitement and pulling at my leg the whole time!

monkeys-9.jpg

monkeys-2.jpg

monkeys-3.jpg

monkeys-8.jpg

monkeys.jpg

monkeys-12.jpg

monkeys-11.jpg

Mean-looking buggers some of them. It's that mohican hairstyle that freaks me out!


Generally speaking these monkeys are amazing and don't bother us at all. Except for eating all our organic fruit of course!

Only on one occasion did we find a huge monkey in the house who didn't want to leave... and for a few months 'Big Daddy' became my nemesis!

IMG_65612 (1).jpg

Screen Shot 2017-06-29 at 15.09.16.png

Thankfully I've not seen him for a long time. He was a bit scary frankly and not scared of me at all!

Love this island :)

Taman Petanu Sunrise panorama.jpg

Sort:  

Great photos and story. This guys look cute, but, as you write, I would not trust them, not to become agro from one moment to the other!

Yes, I've had some experience with monkeys in SA and I know not to trust them. Though the Indonesian monkeys seem less cheeky on the whole :)

Thanks for the comment.

Beautiful mumma monkey !!
They are looking cute in this
Thank You for sharing

My pleasure. Thanks for the comment :)

Most interesting animal portraits and the description of a life with them @samstonehill! Upvoted, resteemed, followed & DPS.

Please state clearly how would you like to be featured in the “Daily Photo Selection”: with a linked photo, or with link only without a photo. We are making a list of photographers who are ready to improve the visibility of their work through the DPS. Thank you.

Many thanks. This sounds really interesting. Does the photo need to be of me? And do you need any information about me?

I have many amazing photographs I would love to share with the steemit community :)

If you choose a linked photo, one of the photos from your post will be choosen to feature your post in the DPS. You don't have to do anything else.

Let's go with the first one. Mumma monkey! Thanks very much. Please keep me informed :)

OK, it will be Mumma monkey this time, but please, you have to state clearly that you wish to be featured with a linked photo.

Is this what you mean?

I wish to be featured with this linked photo :)

monkeys-9.jpg

No, I mean would you wish to be featured with ANY photo from your future posts. If you do not wish, you will be featured only with a link to your post.

Ah I see! I don't mind which photos you choose. I only post my best work :)

Thanks for your patience. It is late here in Bali. Time for bed now.

I love your photography
& Highly Appreciated your skills
Nice click

Thanks very much, appreciate the comment :)

Yesterday I followed the squirrel to photograph her.
This also became a rare situtation for us!

There is nothing better than taking pictures of animals in the wild.

I agree! :))

Anything in particular that you took away from the encounter that you didn't already know going into it?

We see monkeys all the time here so not really. I didn't know they eat papaya leaves though.

Good shot!! Nice pictures, thanks 100% upvoted from @chanthasam

Many thanks :)

Awwwww they are soo cheeeky!! :) - dropping a follow :)

Thanks for the follow, they are indeed cheeky :)

hehe no worries, great pics :)

great pictures my friend....

Thanks buddy, coming from you that means alot.

you are welcome buddy!

nice photos.
How do you photography.

Thanks for the comment, I don't understand your question.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62213.63
ETH 2420.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59