The best Mammatus clouds I ever saw!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #nature7 years ago

crazy sky - Joch.jpg

I spotted this amazing Mammatus cloud formation when I was living the South of France in a little village called Joch, in the Pyrenees Orientales.

What causes mammatus clouds?

In truth it doesn't seem as if anyone can really explain why Mammatus cloud formations happen, but Wikipedia claims they are caused by 'sharp gradients in temperature, moisture and momentum (wind shear) across the anvil cloud/sub-cloud air boundary, which strongly influence interactions therein.' Hmmmm. Does that make any sense to you?

All I know is that I love the way these clouds look and it has been a goal of mine for around four years to shoot them. And here in the South of France I was finally able to do that.

I was also more recently, here in Bali, able to shoot an entire time-lapse sequence of what I thought to be Mammatus...

...but was later informed by an expert that these are more likely to be Undulatus Asperatus clouds.

Well... I am still learning!


Here is a good sample image from the internet so you can see what a genuine (and completely awesome!) Mammatus formation looks like.

iw-Candi-Carter-Kupris-pekin-il-201_980x551.jpeg

Source

One day I will find them and I will make an awesome time-lapse film from them!

Thanks for reading everyone. Hope you enjoyed this weeks cloud lesson :)

final design.jpg

Sort:  

wow ! after that will follow and heavy rain ? also it is a very nice idea to timelapsing clouds!

Wow..look very super beautiful..postingan nice, i like it

amazing photos!!! and the video too!!! i love the clouds and the colors!!

Thanks so much for the comment. I hope to find some more awesome clouds for you soon ;)

thank you very much @samstonehill:) I love the way you do video and photo too!!!

Awesome, they look very ominous...

Wow. Very imposing clouds, almost something weird....

Very weird hey. And very rare. But one day soon I will find them again.

Never stop looking up!!!!

Who gives up has already lost!...

You know it my friend. Never give up! Never surrender! ;)

WOW! This is amazing! Upvoting and following you!

They look very impressive. I have never seen such clouds....Very good Job 👍🏼

Very dramatic!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59519.52
ETH 2532.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52