My new friend is a 1 meter LIZARD!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #nature7 years ago

claws.jpg

This Monitor lizard comes to visit me every day now... and I love Bali so much for exactly this reason! Look at his V shaped tongue which so clearly resembles that of a snake.
lizard banner.jpg

gradient banner rotated.png

compost cage.jpg

For some months I had heard strange noises coming from the compost cage outside my office and assumed it was the cats.

Until one day I saw the cats chasing him off into the jungle! And this guy was no nipper. Around 1M long he made quite a racket as he sped off through the undergrowth with the cats hot on his heels. Erm... do lizards have heels? Anyway....

I was not able to see what he looked like in this moment, so since then it has been my intention to befriend him and after a month of seeing me next to the cage he no longer speeds off into the jungle as before.

Consequently, today I was for the first time able to get some decent shots of him!

And what a beauty he is 🙏🏻

He loves to crawl into a small hole at the bottom of the compost cage and dig around in there with his huge claws looking for things to munch on.

Next to this egg shell you can see what kind of size he is.
egg shell.jpg

I noticed that he has numerous large ticks hanging onto his back which can't be doing him much good.

lizard 01.jpg

So, as our friendship continues to blossom it is my intention to pull them off for him!

And also to discover what he likes to eat the most 😉

Perhaps someone might be able to suggest what that is?

banner surf blessing.jpg

Sort:  

Is it carnivore or vegetarian?

Am assuming vegetarian as he does seem particularly interested in our fruit & veg scraps.

Unless he's in there for the egg shells!

Actually they are primarily carnivorous, and they especially like eating eggs, therefore they are not very popular with farmers or anyone who keeps chickens. And do be careful, they can and do bite, and this can result in a nasty wound. But I agree, they are beautiful and its wonderful to live so close to nature. He will get used to you over time and soon he will be on your patio in the morning waiting for his breakfast!

haha! Can't wait for that patio moment :)

Good to know they are primarily carnivorous! Thanks 🙏🏻

Thats really awesome @samstonehill please let us knw if you get those pesky ticks off him.

Thanks ;) And I will most likely document the whole thing if he ever lets me do this!

He sure is hey!

Can't wait to give him a big hug :)

Excellent! It seems we have walked very similar paths :)

Komodo island is certainly a very special place... hope to have the chance to return before we leave Indonesia.

@samstonehill hahaha, you dont want the komodo dragon on your patio though, it could become very costly to feed him!

He's lovely. i love Lizards! Beautiful creature

Love them too ;)

As long he is in the cage your friendship will blossom

haha! And as long as he doesn't start looking at me like I am the food ;)

Watch out it may be venomous! lol

Hope not. I imaged us hugging like buddies in a few months ;)

I'd certainly love to see that image :)

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Sep 14. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $16.34 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Sep 14 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Seems this animal is in cage, I am sorry my dear friend but I love and appreciate to see/capture photographs of animals in their natural habitat.
Here is my capture of an animal in their natural habitat.

He went into the cage of his own free will. There is a hole at the bottom. Trust me, if he wants to leave, he does so very quickly. He doesn't leave because he feels comfortable there. You should read the words of the article before commenting ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64259.11
ETH 3172.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56