Raising Tadpoles (Day 97) - A New Date

in #nature6 years ago (edited)

First Day
Previous Day

Day 97

I managed to contact the wholesaler again yesterday and have set a new date, this Saturday, for the juvenile frogs to be brought in to his facility, I just have to call before driving in to confirm. I have also recruited a driver so i can focus on frogs while transporting them, I've never transported more than four frogs at once and would rather not have to divide my attention between driving, managing the frogs, and feeling every vibration in my broken toe. It'll also mean I'll have a guaranteed-to-be functioning air conditioning available for the young frogs, which will be essential for dealing with the heat since African Clawed Frogs are cold water frogs that thrive in water temperatures of 68 - 72 °F.

GOPR2121 - Copy.JPG

After confirming the new date, I went ahead and transferred 14 froglets out of the tadpole tank. 2 of the froglets are likely to be moved to the froglet tank, due to their size, and may even be sent on Saturday if they grow a little bigger. The froglets will remain in the 5 gallon tank until Saturday. At that point, the frogs in the 10 gallon will be switched with the froglets in the 5 gallon and the frogs in the 30 gallon will be moved to the 3 gallon. The estimated total of frogs to be moved on Saturday is 35-37, which will leave me with 44 to 42 tadpoles/froglets to care for and two less tanks to deal with on a daily basis compared to today. I could move some of the frogs in the 10 gallon to the 30 gallon but I don't really see much of a reason to at this point since the filter is handling it and I'll be doing the weekly water change tomorrow or the day after.

GOPR2112 - Copy.JPG

Current Totals:

14 - 5 gallon (Holding Tank)
21 - 10 gallon (Froglet Tank)
30 - 20 gallon (Tadpole Tank)
14 - 30 gallon (Main tank)

Next Day

Sort:  

Again here I am. :)
Oh, those adorable frogs!


You got a plankton sized upvote from @worksinsane because your post appeared in the We Curate quality post search tool. It is a web art thingy thing that searches posts which fulfill predetermined rules. Upvoting isn't automated, @worksinsane reads posts before upvoting.

For more information read the latest post: https://steemit.com/wecurate/@worksinsane/we-curate-9

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60340.89
ETH 2615.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56