You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Are classical liberalism and environmentalism mutually exclusive ideologies?

in #nature7 years ago (edited)

I just came across another article that reminded me of this thread. It's not entirely a free market solution, but very clever, and I wonder how it might be adapted by entrepreneurs.

The Internet of Things is putting poachers on the endangered list.

Correction. This might actually be a free market solution. Looks like my assumption that the game reserve was run by government may have been incorrect - http://www.welgevonden.org/conservation/conservation-managemnet.html.

Sort:  

Very cool! I like the idea - monitoring the less endangered "sentry" species to protect the rhinos. I've often thought about how interconnected nature is, an dhow little we understand the connections, and how if we did, that knowledge could be used to protect resources.

I was just re-reading this thread and noticed you mentioned PERC - I was just watching a Learn Liberty video that mentioned PERC, and I went over to their website. I've now decided that I want to work for them! Their message of Free Market Environmentalism and Enviropreneurship really resonates with me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63439.39
ETH 2545.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66