The Beaver is Busted!!!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #nature7 years ago

This will be our 3rd Spring season in our "new to us" house. For the better part of 2.5 years, we have been nursing a little pussy willow bush that seems to be struggling to exist. At first, I thought this was only due to zealous grass cutting, but once we both acknowledged that the planting existed, (and wasn't a figment of our imaginations) we started to cut the grass around the tender shoots to let it become established.

I was really hoping it was going to present to be a small lilac bush...but it never recovered enough, from one season to the next, to grow leaves. This made identifying it, well, a bit troublesome to say the least.

This was going to be its first year to show us what it was...

I noticed a few days ago that it had some buds and I was waiting to see what would develop from those very compact nodes...

WAS is the operative word...it appears as if my friend Donald has beat me to it. I now have proof of the dastardly deed. (You can even see the little pussy willow buds...too...Darn it!)

Caught in the sneaky act:

Nothing with new shoots and tender bark is safe.

The nerve!!! With a piece hanging right out of his mouth, as I bellowed "NOoooo"!

Smug. He didn't even slap his tail at me!!! Which means he wasn't scared of me and he arrogantly swam away for now, looking back to see when it would be safe to double back and finish the job.

I expect to wake-up tomorrow to a few nubs left, if I'm lucky.

Next year, a cage around this bush will be installed to protect it. Yes folks, that's what life has become...

It even makes me laugh out loud for real. Bill Murray and his gophers...pleeeease. :D

I may welcome your comments on this one...follow me if you dare.

~Rebecca Ryan 

Sort:  

Sneaky fellow, and those pussy willows are lovely, well...will be lovely next year!

also, I wish I had another post including beavers...we're on a roll here!

Hahaha! Yeah, there's always next year...at least now I know it will require beaver protection. :)

Pesky little critters. The fence should definitely go up. I've had them slap right next to the canoe at night, scares the bejeebers out of you, that's for sure. Which I suppose IS the point. They are fun, if not very hard on the plants.

A tail slap next to your canoe in the dark would be very startling @ddschteinn! I'd jump for sure...tricky in a canoe, not to tip because of natural reflexes. Thanks for commenting. :)

We used to paddle about in the dark in a large creek here for fun. Then sleep out in the bushes wherever we ended up. Great fun. But the beavers would be by the shore, and when we got too close...'whap-kasploosh' right off the bow. It was quite alarming. Never did tip, though put some serious lack-of-thought into trying. Thanks for sharing about the beaver difficulties. Can imagine it's frustrating.

That's a fantastic story! I have been in my own canoe during the day and had a beaver slap right beside me. Makes me jump every time and I can see it. LOL Very un-nerving in the dark!
As much as it sounds like I am complaining...it is a real privilege to witness. ;)

It is a very effective defense mechanism. Hard to chase (swim) down and eat something when your heart is already at 4800 bpm. And I agree, it is an honor to see them in the wilds, so close. That is amazing how large they are too. Like vultures, don't appreciate how huge until you get close. Thanks for sharing about our bucktooth'd friends.

BEAVERS!!!!! Thankfully, I've never been bit by one of those, though the Muskrats have got me twice so far!

This one is pretty big. I'm guessing 40 lbs anyway....I'd also guess about 3 feet tall, too (when it stands on its hind legs.) Like a small child, really. You are braver and/ or crazier than me @papa-pepper! Bit twice? You're not even shy. :D

When it comes to the brave/crazy debate, I heard there is a fine line between them. That is just hearsay though, as I have never seen such a line.

Wherever it supposedly exists, I must be too far away on whichever side I'm on to see it... so I'm still not sure which side that is.

LOL...which ever it is...I must say that it provides valuable education. I don't have to test an armadillo's jumping capability now because of your brave/crazy factor and wiliness to share.
Thank you :D

How did you get bit by a Muskrat?

YIKES! Id be worried of rabies!

Semi-aquatic mammals like muskrats do not carry the same threat level... I think...

LOL well if you start foaming at the mouth while barking at the moon, you just might want to think about getting that checked out LOL!

Noted! Good looking out @old-guy-photos!

Life is a shit @rebeccaryan, you can't have them both -_* And pick your size too while you're at it lolssss!!!!!!

Pick my size? Believe it or not...this guy is big...I'm not that much bigger and I would bet it has way more strength than I do...they can fell mature trees and drag them quite a distance. Both things that I can't do without tools. LMAO!

They can do those?? i might need to think 2x before barking on the wrong tree then ahhahaha

Yeah, you and I are no match for a beaver...Hahaha!

duh! i thought they're just weeny bits lolsss

Babies are...but they grow quickly. :)

Uhuh..50 lbs can be huge and scary ;)

Yes. I have never seen one run, but they are exceptionally fast swimmers and they can hold their breathe for 15 minutes, when they are underwater.

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Apr 18. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $1.01 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Apr 18 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Hahahah! You caught Donald in the act! Lol! He was really enjoying those little pussy willow bush young shoots!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62685.52
ETH 2436.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51