My magic carpet ride....well, thats what it felt like to me!

in #nature6 years ago

Woke up to a beautiful blessing this morning, another amazing carpet of snow! It made me think of one of my favorite days here on the mountain from this past December 2017. I hope you enjoy hearing about it and enjoy watching us goof off.

On one of my visits home to Tennessee to see my Daddy last Summer I asked about a sled my sister and I shared growing up. It must have been 1972 or 73 that we got a sled as a shared Christmas gift. I remember seeing it years ago in the basement and if it was still down there I would love to have it. Daddy thought he had actually seen it last Spring so I was ready to push up my sleeves get the spider swatter and go find the sled in the basement. It only took a few minutes and there she was!!

I was so happy to have it and was planning to make a display on my front porch. Honestly I figured it was dry rotted, but in the back of my mind I knew I wanted to get it out on the snow!

Fast Forward to end of November and I went foraging in the woods and got me all kinds of stuff to make my front porch display and the main ingredient was my childhood, vintage sleigh. I was so proud of it and it brought back so many memories that I was able to share with my Hub.

A few days later we got our first snow. Chad, Onyx and I were out on the Ranger enjoying the snow when we decided it was a perfect snow for sledding.

Of course Chad ran back to the house, grabbed the sled and rode us on over to the biggest hill. Chad went first and I figured it wouldn’t slide well at all cause we needed to put some wax on the runners, but nope, he went down the hill just fine and I would say his test was very successful. We were taking turns riding down the hill, Onyx chasing us the whole way. We cheated because we would take the ranger and pick up one another at the bottom of the hill.

That was one of the most fun days I can remember in a while. It was like we were kids again. We (well mostly me) squealed and laughed and rode and got chased and was wet and froze but it was so much fun. I have watched this at least 50 times and I still smile the whole way thru hearing my laughter and knowing I am not thinking about or worrying about anything other than my magic carpet ride. This should be a blue ribbon ride for sure. I keep going and going and going!

We laughed at each other, got in a snowball fight and it was just the best time.

When we got back we were putting the sled back in its place and it was flipped over. That is when I saw the Reg price $22.98 with a line under it and the sale price written in at $17.98. I would say it has been Worth every penny!!!!!!

I am just sayin’...... Dance like nobody is lookin’, Sled like nobody is listening, Kiss like it could be your last and Be happy in the moment. I sure hope for another day just like this one, cause it was that good.

Live, Love and Laugh,
Kimberly Q.

Sort:  

What a wonderful description and the video was just amazing. So much fun.

A genuine flexible flyer. We had one when I was a kid.

Thanks for a great memory. Snow memories are hard to come by in the desert!

Oh Cool,,,,you had one too! Well, mine has certainly lasted :) I am glad you enjoyed and it reminded you of a fun time too. Thank you!

That is some hill! It reminds me of Fox Hill where my husband and I used to slide/toboggan when we first met. I can see why you watched the video so many times!

Lovely post, brought me right into the day with you!

It is a major hill for sure. I still love sleigh riding and my family from North Carolina comes and goes with us sometimes. It is a ball. I am glad you enjoyed my post :)

Sometimes you just need to be like a kid again. It sure helps to remember the good times.

My sentiments exactly! It was a great day that I won't ever forget! Thanks for reading and your vote :)

I love those sleds, so much fun. We are in the middle of a nor'easter right now. Maybe tomorrow will be a good day to breakout the sleds.

I hope you get to break yours out too! I just didn't expect to go so fast and so far :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 62939.93
ETH 3116.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89