Plant trees while you are surfing the Internet - use Ecosia!

in #nature7 years ago

Ecosia is a search engine, similar with Google that is planting trees with the income from the ads. I feel many of you from this social platform would be interested in knowing this one!

ecosia-logo.jpg

Every time we are browsing the internet, we are creating some sort of a content that is valuable. Just like switching from Facebook to Steemit ancd choosing to help ourselves instead of adding more money into the big corporations, we can do similar with our search engine! By default most of us are used to Google. But there are much more alternatives to this Big Companies that are using us for tracking our data and so on.

Ecosia-Search-Engine-940x392.jpg

Ecosia, for example is using 80% from the ad-money they get from our search to plant trees all over the world. Since they started , they planted over 19 millions of trees!!! and they are aiming to plant over 1 billion of trees by 2020! This a pretty amazing number of trees! Considering the fact that we are doing good deeds and helping our environment just by sitting in front of our computer!

Ecosia it started in 2009 after a world trip by one of the CEOs after he saw the effects of massive deforestation and is based in Berlin, being run by a small team of young people, 20 more exactly.

ecosia how it works.png
Personally, I am using it for more then 1 year and since then, I planted almost 700 trees! Considering the fact that I feel so guilty of using plastic, this small thing that i can do for the world - using a different search engine makes me feel tons better! I must admit, is not as complete as Google. But if you need it only for a simple browsing is ok! If you want more detailed results, you should double check with The Big Google. But more then 90% of the time, I am satisfied with the results!

ecosia trees.jpg

You can give it a try here https://www.ecosia.org/ I am sharing this website and promoting it because I believe in it and because I think many people need to know about it. Together we can make a better world! Starting with what we choose to buy, what we choose to eat, where are we searching our informations etc. Our decisions indeed matter!

Sort:  

I use it sometimes, but frankly, the search result quality is not as good as Google´s, so many times, when I was not happy with ecosia´s results, I had to add another Google search anyway, but I still use it for simple stuff.

exactly same here! i do my daily search with ecosia and the "important" ones with google. it is a process. i guess as many people will start using it, as better will it get also!

Thank you, I was dragged into using "ecosia" by my son. He came in one day and told me not to use the other searching machine. Now I do.

Though I was kind of sceptic if they really plant trees. They seem to, when I follow you right. But my little critic wants more than that: Are there any materials of videos or people who document that planting process? And what kind of trees?

Other than that: I am totally on your side :-)

Talk about learning something new every day​, @purplemoon! I just learned about Ecoasia and now I am excited. It's a brilliant idea and I am surprised it hasn't caught on more and I am shocked that I am just now learning about it. Thanks for posting about this, @purplemoon! I will do my part by starting off resteeming, voting and commenting on this fabulous post of information. =)

it is a great search engine! Since I posted the article until Now, I planted 10 more trees! So easy, no?? thank you again :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64176.22
ETH 2624.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78