Ultra-Trail Drakensburg trail run - South Africa

in #nature7 years ago

On 27th April 2017 I set out on my longest yet trail running race in the Drakensburg mountains in South Africa. The event was called Ultra-trail Drakensburg, and is a qualifying event for the Ultra-trail Mont Blanc event held in France/Switzerland each year.

Not being ready yet to run the main 100km event (Ultra-trail Drakensburg), or the 62km Giants Cup Uncut, I opted for the 30km Sundowner event, which had us start at 4pm at Castleburn farm.

Knowing that I would be spending around 6 hours alone at night in the middle of the mountains at the start of winter, I was required to carry an array of safety related equipment, such as long thermal pants and top, water proof windbreaker jacket, emergency food, first aid kit with space blanket, whistle, gloves, beanie. Along with the obvious headlamp as I would be running the the dark(and it really was DARK), and enough food and hydration to last each 15km before and after the 15km checkpoint.

Running for about 3 hours into the sunset, and all the way up the side of a mountain was one of the most amazing experiences, and then getting to sit down and have a rest at the top, and take in the view, even more so.

View

view2

I felt really good arriving at the 15km checkpoint at around 7pm, had some food and energy drinks, and set off for the second half of the run.

The next 5.5 hours which followed was one of the most difficult experiences I have endured. About 30 minutes out from the checkpoint, I started to feel a terrible pain in my stomach area which just got progressively worse. I realized that something I had eaten must not be agreeing with me. The pain got so bad that I was walking stretches of 100 meters and then resting for a few minutes unable to move. Sitting all alone in the middle of the mountain, not knowing how I could possibly make it to the end, I decided right there that I was never running in the mountains again(of course that decision didn't last past the next few weeks)

waterfall

Long story short, the last person on the race who was behind me all this time came across me, and was struggling herself. We ended up walking the next 10km together, and arriving at the end just after midnight in the freezing cold. We had to cross a few freezing rivers in the dark, holding onto barb wire fences to balance. Almost getting chased by a cow, or so we thought, and seeing some more amazing views.

I am happy to say that I am training hard, and finding every mountain race I can come across.

The winner of the 100km race came in at around 12.5 hours, and the last person in at around 27.5 hours.

nexttoriver

Photos linked from Ultra-trail Drakensburg facebook page.

Sort:  

I attempted an adventure race in the middle of winter several years back while I was still in school...the night before the race it snowed 2.5 feet. I had been running for months in preparation for the race, but nothing could have prepared me for that much snow. I ended up only making it 28 of the 64 miles in just under 13 hours before my hip flexor could take no more. Luckily there was a manned rest station close enough for me to hobble to.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63630.78
ETH 3406.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55