You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: BarrytheBee - Exploring the Ozarks' Native Plants and Pollinators

in #nature7 years ago

I'm headed out today to try bee lining - following wild bees back from their foraging areas to find their nests. It seemed to work pretty well the last time. Hopefully I can get some good pictures together to make a post on it.

I'm a beekeeper, so my goal is to find survivor colonies of wild bees and propagate them by housing their swarms.

Sort:  

That's really neat! I've heard of people tossing something like flour on a bee so they could follow it. Will you be doing something similar? Or does that hurt the bee?

If you get enough bees using the feeder station you can follow them well enough without putting anything on them. I spend most of Saturday establishing one bee line, but the hive was pretty far from my location, so I didn't make too much progress.

Darn. I hope it was at least a beautiful day. I'm going to follow you so I can keep up with your bee lining projects!

It was a beautiful day and I got to spend it sitting in the sunshine watching bees. That's pretty good.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57258.35
ETH 3065.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33