Baby bat in my shed!

in #nature5 years ago

Baby bat in my shed!

I definitely had to share this cutie with you all!

_MG_1072.jpg

It's not uncommon for me to see bats in or around the shed. They usually hang out in the mango trees in my yard, and sometimes come to find cover against the weather. It is the fist time though, that I had a guest of this age! Arriving at the shed, I turned on my light, to find this little bugger on the floor, surrounded by saw-dust. Its mum came flying into the shed, circling around her young, and flying off again. This kept being repeated over and over again. I know from experience that bats avoid artificial light.
Can anyone tell me the reason behind this?
I switched off the light, and turned it on 5 seconds later. Baby bat was gone, and I didn't see either of them again.

Camera: Canon EOS 5D
Lens: Sigma 70-300mm f4-5.6 DG Macro
Exposure: 1.3 sec at F/5.0, ISO: 100
Focal length: 218mm


I am a young artist, with a passion to see the world, and see it through positive eyes. New to Steem, but eager to share. Travel, photography, creating, and designing... Follow me if you want to see the world through my eyes!

Sort:  

Congratulations @photomark! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - A better rich list comparator
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

learning to fly :)

Congratulations @photomark! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 10 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Hello @photomark! This is a friendly reminder that you have 3000 Partiko Points unclaimed in your Partiko account!

Partiko is a fast and beautiful mobile app for Steem, and it’s the most popular Steem mobile app out there! Download Partiko using the link below and login using SteemConnect to claim your 3000 Partiko points! You can easily convert them into Steem token!

https://partiko.app/referral/partiko

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65920.41
ETH 3016.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71