You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Natural Dyeing – My First Attempts – NETTLE, Black Beans, and Chokecherry

in #nature6 years ago

Hey, it was a good first effort! I think you did well. It's a learning process, hey? I have a book on natural dyes, and I was thinking I would try one of the few that don't need mordant first but I haven't done it yet. I think pinecones and coffee both don't need it, but I have to double check. I forget what cream of tartar comes from but it's not toxic, it's food. I use it to make baking powder, among other things. :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Yeah I should try some without the mordant too, just for some fun. Getting some books from the library about it so I can get more ideas. The cream of tartar isn't toxic but I mixed it with the Aluminum Sulfate which I guess is. I'm not sure why it's suggested to use the Alum and Cream of Tartar together but I just followed the notes that I've read.
Do you have any posts on natural dyeing? I haven't necessarily run into anyone else on Steemit doing it but I'm sure there's a group... There's a group here fro everything right? ( ;

I haven't tried it yet. It's one of those "I didn't have a specific thing I wanted to dye yet so other projects with specific end goals took precedence" type thing, lol. If you find a group/hashtag, let me know! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62227.11
ETH 2400.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50