You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: floating Whale Vomit- worth its Weight in Gold!

in #nature7 years ago

I once found a piece of Ambergris on the beach in North Wales. I was really mystified as to what it could be. It was about the size of a small cat and looked just like the first image in this post.

Not knowing what it was, I just left it there.. years later I saw an article in a Nat Geo magazine and a picture and nearly fell off my chair ... If I ever saw a piece again, I think I'd know what it was.. It was probably worth a lot then. this was probably over 20 years ago. In some places, it's actually forbidden to take it !

Sort:  

I didnt know it was forbidden to take it will have to look that up, i think i found some years ago aswell when i was a kid and ended up throwing it away, we didnt have google back then lol :) keep looking bud!

only in certain places.. (where they expect you to turn it over to the authorities ?) I think I found it more than once as a kid. I was always an avid beachcomber ! and usually knew what I was looking for. except this unusual yellow stuff.. maybe one day I'll see some again and next time I'll know !


steemit has been messing me around today wouldnt let me reply to your comment! ?

i had the same problem replying to you !! something funny on this block.. Ah well thanks for the screenshot, let's hope next time we find ambergris, we'll recognise it for what it is.. whalepoo gold !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66561.16
ETH 3492.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63