You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Be aware of what may be lurking in your neck of the woods

in #nature7 years ago

Very informative post, I can relate to your disdain of ticks.
I did some research after ticks ruined a camping trip I went on about a year ago.

One solution which has worked wonders for me is to soak the clothes you're wearing for the hike in diluted permethrin and letting it dry prior to the trip.

This stops the ticks from clinging to your clothes, and I have had not had any issues with ticks since doing so. Each application lasts for quite a few washes so it's not something you have to do everytime.

You can also spray your dog or soak him down with some permethrin as well, though the dilution% would be different.

Once you buy the stuff you just add water up to the manufacturer's recommendation.

I hope this helps, it's a real downer to not enjoy the outdoors for fear of ticks.

-O.T.

Sort:  

Thank you. I had not heard of permethrin before. I am looking in to it now.

You're welcome! Just be careful if you have cats, the liquid is toxic to them. Hope this helps!

-O.T.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57249.71
ETH 3092.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41