Reports of environmental problems caused by Hurricane Ida begin to trickle in

in #nature3 years ago

image.png

On Tuesday, the National Response Center had reports on 11 incidents that occurred in Louisiana on Saturday, the day before Ida hit, through the end of Sunday.

Interesting article about the environmental impact that Hurricane Ida caused on Louisiana. We often hear about the human suffering that these type of storms have on people, and rightly so, but sometimes it's interesting to see how the environment faired. This was a big storm that hit some of the weakest parts of Louisiana's wetlands, the damage will be unrecoverable. I encourage you to read through the list of some of the first reported problems. This won't be the last discovered devastation, but I guess we have to start somewhere.....

Read the full story here....
https://www.nola.com/news/environment/article_ecac5322-0a9e-11ec-aa1a-b3a6500298cd.html

Sort:  

Any guess of the dollar cost of the storm?

I have not heard that number yet.

I thought I heard of some big fish kills because of the storm, any info on that?

I saw that on the news but nothing in print yet

I hope that is the last storm of the year to effect that area.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68034.95
ETH 3846.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66